RSS
Aside
16 Jun

It Happened in Vegas Part Nine

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart Seven, Part Eight, Part TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen

I honestly didn’t know that dragons were real. It wasn’t huge like they usually are in the movies and books. It was more like the size of a very large grizzly bear, but it was still very intimidating. I’m not even sure it was a dragon because I had never heard of them existing, but it looked just like one.

It spread its wings out and let out a very high pitched squeal. I would have expected it to let out a horrific roar but it was more like a giant bat. It was scary none-the-less. It stepped down off the ledge and approached us, ready to pounce on its prey. That was us. I slowly started to back away with Julie’s dad behind me.

“It’s going to eat us,” Julie’s dad whispered.

“Shut up,” I said back. I didn’t want to spook the animal. It already looked aggressive enough. “Just head to the door, very slowly.”

He did just that and moved toward the exit door that he claimed wouldn’t open. The dragon followed us, letting out occasional hisses, sticking out its tongue like a snake as it did.

“We are going to have to move quickly,” I said. “I’m going to rip open the door and then we’ll have to get in there.”

“It’s going to kill us,” he replied.

“Not if we move fast enough.”

“You’re an idiot.”

“When this is over, I’m going to punch you in the face.”

We reached the door and the dragon was still keeping some distance in between us, probably wary of what I might do. I really wondered if it knew what I was. I had Julie’s dad try to open the door but it didn’t budge.

“You see?” he said.

“Okay,” I began. “I’m going to rip the door open in three seconds.”

“It’s getting closer.”

“Three. Two. One.”

I ripped open the door and shoved the man through it, wondering if he was going to break any bones. If I went down there with him the dragon could have just followed us so I couldn’t take that chance.

The dragon didn’t waste any time and pounced on me like a feral cat. I managed to roll out of the way in time but barely. As I rolled up into a kneeling position I stuck my guns out, ready to fire, but the monster was way too fast. I didn’t have time to shoot as it took a bite into my arm. I yelled in pain but I didn’t give up.

I took one of my guns and shoved it into the creatures back. I pulled the trigger, firing a bullet right in. Thankfully it wasn’t like the thing had scales that were impenetrable because the bullet did hit its mark. The thing let go of my arm and let out another squeal. Then it flew away.

I checked my arm and saw that I would live. I found my phone and called Roy.

“Wes, you die?” he asked.

“If I died I wouldn’t be calling you,” I pointed out.

“I know.”

I let that sink in for a second and then snapped back into reality.

“It’s a damn dragon,” I said.

“What?” he replied. “Dragons?”

“Yeah.”

“There’s no such thing.”

“There’s no such thing as vampires either.”

“Good point.”

“This thing is not going to be easy to kill. It’s strong, fast and it can fly.”

“When are they ever easy to kill? How’s a giant dragon not noticed in Las Vegas?”

“It’s not as big as you think.”

I thought I heard something fly above me but it was just a bird.

“I need to get down from here,” I said.

I got down, but I really wanted to use the stairs. Instead the dragon came swooping down and knocked me right off of the building…

It Happened in Vegas: Part Nine

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 16, 2014 in It Happened in Vegas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
