RSS
Aside
09 Jun

It Happened in Vegas Part Seven

Part OnePart TwoPart ThreePart FourPart Five, Part Six, Part EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen

So there I was, flying through the air with some monster’s claws digging into my shoulders. I can say that it was certainly not a comfortable feeling. Somehow I had managed to hang on to my phone but I didn’t waste any time hanging it up. I didn’t want Julie to hear what was going to happen. I didn’t even know what was going to happen. I certainly couldn’t just try to get away from its grip because we were way too high in the air at that point. Plus I wasn’t in a good position to try. So, I just waited to see where it was taking me.

It was interesting, seeing things from that point of view. If you can believe it I have never been on a plane before so I have never flown. I can imagine that flying on a plane would be a little different than being dragged through the air by some monster. I still couldn’t see what it was.

My phone started to ring and the monster started making some squawking noise. It was making the thing angry. It was hard to focus on anything with its claws in me but I did manage to silence the phone.

The thing brought to me to a rooftop and dropped me. I was a little disoriented so I didn’t see exactly where it went but I think it flew away.

I looked around and I was sitting in what looked like some sort of nest. There was just a bunch of garbage all bunched together in a circle. Plus there were human remains as well. I couldn’t tell if one of them was Julie’s father or not.

My phone started ringing again. It was Roy.

“Hey,” I said with a grunt.

“What’s wrong with you?” he asked.

“I think I found the monster.”

“How do you know?”

“Because it just picked me off the ground and dropped me in its nest.” The phone beeped at me because Julie was calling, but I ignored her.

“What?! It can fly?”

“Yeah, it can.”

“I don’t know anything that can fly. Not that big and fast anyway.”

“Me either. Maybe we’re lucky enough to have discovered a new type of monster.”

“I hope not.”

I grunted as I started to move around. Paladin or not, having something stab you in three different places on each shoulder hurts. I stood up and started moving away from the nest. I needed to get away from the bones mostly.

“At least you’re all cozy at some nice motel,” I said.

“Yeah, real cozy,” he replied. “Just a dozen or so healing vampire bites and scratches.”

“See. Optimism. Always good practice.”

“If I could see you I would punch you.”

“You mean you would try.”

I know I should have been paying attention. If I was I might have seen the monster coming back at me.

It didn’t grab me this time but instead just knock me over. It felt like I got hit by a Mack Truck. The thing knocked me 20 feet across the roof.

I stood back up, turned around, and prepared myself for another hit but it didn’t come. This monster was tactical and I didn’t like that. I didn’t have my axes—I couldn’t walk around Vegas with two axes strapped to my belt—but I did have my guns. Luckily neither of them fell off when it grabbed me. I took them both out and readied myself for another attack.

There was a whimpering somewhere off beyond the nest.

“Hello?” I called out, but there was no answer.

I stepped toward the noise but went with caution. There was no telling if there was a person there or if this monster could mimic humans.

“Is there someone there?” I asked. There was still no reply.

I continued.

“If there is someone there you should say so,” I stated. “Otherwise I am going to just start shooting.”

There was a shuffle and something moved. I took a quick shot but it was just a warning. If there was someone there I didn’t want to kill them.

“Get out here!” I demanded.

The person finally did. I couldn’t believe it. I felt a huge wave of relief as he headed toward me. It was Julie’s dad…

It Happened in Vegas: Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 9, 2014 in It Happened in Vegas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
