RSS
Aside
28 May

It Happened in Vegas Part Three

Part OnePart Two, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen

I wasn’t going to find whatever captured the woman by looking on the ground. This thing was probably hanging out on the tops of buildings, where most people don’t go, snatching up people from the ground. That meant one of two things: either it had very, very long arms or it could climb walls. Unless Spider-man has a gambling problem I think it’s safe to say that it’s not him.

I tried to find a way into the building through the back but there were plenty of people, mainly police, standing back there so there was no way I was going to sneak in there. The only thing I could do was go into one of the surrounding buildings and look from there. First, I wanted to talk to the convenience store clerk to see if I could just get a little bit of information.

The guy was standing with a police officer who was asking him some questions. I waited until he was done and walked over to him.

“Hi,” I said.

“Hey,” he replied. He didn’t really seem too shaken up.

“This is crazy, huh?”

“Yeah, man. I was robbed, which is whatever, and that news reporter. Way too weird.”

“Did you see what grabbed her?”

“No. I was talking to the cops already and missed it.”

“Did you ever hear anything on the roof before? Were there any other weird things going on?”

“No.”  He turned and looked at me. “You a cop or something?”

“No,” I answered. “Why?”

“You’re asking a lot of questions. You are way too young to be a cop.”

“I’m a student. Just trying to learn.”

“Well, go learn somewhere else before I get the real cops over here.”

I put my hands up and walked away. What a jerk. He was cool at first and then totally switched gears. Oh well.

I walked away and headed to the building next door. There wasn’t anyone surrounding that building or paying attention to it so I ventured inside. It was some type of office building that was clearly closed but I’ve done a little breaking and entering plenty of times in the past. No biggy.

The building was dark and completely empty, which worked for me because that decreased my chances of getting caught, significantly. I navigated through the building and eventually found the door that led to the roof. The building was about seven stories high, so I was pretty far up.

My first thought as I stepped through the door was that there was no one on the roof with me. I was wrong.

“What are you doing up here?” a man asked me as he stumbled from behind a vent. His clothes were a mess and so was he. There was a liquor bottle in his hand.

“What are you doing?” I asked back.

“That’s noneaya business.” He could barely speak. “My wifethinks shesssooo god? She leaves me because of one sim mistake? Stupid.”

He was obviously at a bad point in his life and I didn’t really want to get in the middle of that.

“Look,” I began, “I’ll just go into the next building.”

“Don’t you move,” he said, waving the bottle at me.

“Okay, bud.”

“I’m notyabud, dumb stupid.”

I chuckled. I know I shouldn’t have chuckled but the man just sounded so ridiculous.

“You think this funny?” he asked.

“No,” I said.

“Then whyareyou laughing?”

“I don’t know.”

“I should beat you bloody.”

“I think I’ll just leave now.”

I could kick the crap out of him but I didn’t really want to do that.

“Get over here so I can beatyasenseless,” he demanded.

He didn’t really have the chance to do that, though. He was suddenly ripped off the roof. Whatever took him was still moving too fast to see exactly what it was but I could make out just a little bit and one thing was clear: it could fly…

It Happened in Vegas: Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 28, 2014 in It Happened in Vegas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
