RSS
Aside
26 May

It Happened in Vegas Part Two

Part One, Part ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart TenPart ElevenPart TwelvePart ThirteenPart Fourteen

I didn’t wait around for anything else to happen. I headed right into Las Vegas. Whatever was terrorizing the town we were in decided to head into Sin City. At least I knew where to start looking but I had no idea what the monster even was. I left Roy back at the motel because he wouldn’t be able to do anything to help me. I was on my own. Of course, I was always on my own so that didn’t really matter to me.

The city was amazing. There were so many bright lights and so many people. The only problem was that I would say about 80 percent of them were completely drunk.

I found my way to the spot where the woman was ripped up in the air. It was in front of a convenience store just outside the city. I wasn’t the only one that had showed up. Obviously everyone was there to find out what had happened to that news reporter. The police were there too, which made me feel very uncomfortable. Even worse other news teams were there so I had to stay out of the camera view.

There wasn’t a whole lot I could do without being noticed and I probably wasn’t going to find much by looking on the ground anyway.

“Sir, did you see what happened?” someone said. It took me a second but I realized that they were talking to me. It was a reporter followed by a cameraman.

“No,” I said quickly.

“Do you know anyone involved?”

“No.”

“Do you have any comments?”

“Yeah: Go away.”

My phone started ringing. I knew who it was before I even looked at the phone.

“Now you’ve done it,” I said to the reporter. He ignored me and walked away.

I answered the phone.

“You guys are fast,” I said.

“What’s the matter with you?” Kelly asked. To remind those of you who may have forgotten and inform those of you who decided to join the story in the middle, Kelly works for an agency of humans that hunts down monsters. It’s not like Roy who is on his own.

“I wanted my 15 minutes of fame.”

“Are you an idiot?”

“It’s not like I wanted to be on camera, you dumbass. Didn’t you see what happened here?”

“A moment ago, yes. We’re sending a team out.”

“Without you?” I asked

“Yes,” she replied. I don’t know if I’ve ever worked with anyone in the agency without her. “Do you know what it is yet?”

“Not a clue,” I answered.

“Odd.”

“I have never seen anything move like that and I have seen a lot of different monsters.”

“Neither have we.”

“No ideas on your end then?”

“No. We’re looking through some files to see if maybe something was forgotten over the years but nothing yet. We’ll figure it out.”

I was sure that they would figure it out, but I wanted to figure it out before they did. Don’t call me a child. Everyone is competitive in one way or another so don’t sit there behind your computer screen or tablet or whatever you’re using to read this and act all high and mighty.

“Listen,” I began, “I’ve got this under control. There’s no reason to send anyone out here.”

“Wes, we’re sending a team out,” she reiterated.

“Okay. I’ll let you know when I kill it.”

“Wes, no.”

“Bye.” I hung up the phone.

I knew they were coming and I couldn’t stop that. I didn’t know how far out they would be so I had to move fast. This was possibly a new monster and I didn’t want to give anyone else the credit for killing it, which meant at most I had until the end of the night to find and kill it. Happy hunting, Wes…

It Happened in Vegas: Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 26, 2014 in It Happened in Vegas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
