RSS
Aside
12 May

Hairy and the Vampires Part Seven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part FourPart FivePart Six, Part EightPart NinePart Ten

I couldn’t believe it. This guy knew Drake. He was trained by him. I never knew that Drake had trained a human to fight monsters. I wonder how many he did. To me that seemed reckless. No offense, but you guys are useless against some of the monsters out there.

“Drake?” I repeated.

“Yeah, Drake,” he confirmed. “You know him?”

I chuckled. “Yeah. I knew him.”

“Knew him?” I realized that he wouldn’t have known that he was dead. I wish I could have told him in better circumstances.

“Yeah. He, uh, he died.”

Roy just nodded his head. I know that it definitely hit him hard but he was doing a decent job of hiding it.

“What happened?” he asked me.

“Yetis and a witch,” I told him. “He saved my life.”

“That sounds like Drake.”

“When did you know him? How did you meet him?”

One of the people we were saving stood up. “Do you really think this is necessary right now? Something is trying to break through the door.” The monsters were still banging on the door and had even managed to put a dent into it.

We both looked at him for a second and then looked back at each other.

“I had a wife,” Roy told me. “One night she was sleeping and I was downstairs watching TV. I heard her scream. When I went up stairs I found her.” He stopped for a moment and took a deep breath. “My whole world was torn apart that night. A few months later I heard of the same story across the state. I went there to investigate. Let’s just say I wasn’t expecting to find a vampire waiting for me.

“Drake came in and saved me. He taught me about monsters and how to fight them. He gave a purpose to my life. About five or six years ago he sent me out on my own. He said he had someone else that he needed to help. I never saw him again.”

I could see the pain in his eyes. He obviously looked up to Drake, like I did, and it bothered him when he left. I felt a lump form in my throat. I was the reason that Drake left him.

“That was me,” I said.

“Huh?” he asked.

“I was the one he needed to help.” I told him the story of my life.

“I don’t know why I never talked to him again,” Roy said.

“I don’t know either,” I admitted. “I wonder why we never met?”

“I’m glad we did now.”

“Me too.”

We stayed silent for a second.

“Are you friggin kidding me?” the man standing next us yelled. “What is trying to break through that door?”

I turned to him. “Look. I know you’re scared. Anyone would be with vampires and werewolves trying to kill them.”

“Vampires? Werewolves?”

“Yeah. But I will keep you safe.” I turned to Roy. “We will keep you safe.”

Roy nodded his head.

“So, what do you think?” Roy asked me.

“I don’t think we really have much of a choice,” I pointed out.

“Okay. I open the door and we just start shooting.”

“Somewhat, yeah.”

“Alrighty then.”

Roy walked up to the door and took a deep breath.

“You ready?” he asked.

“Nope.”

“Okay.”

He counted to three and started to open the door…

Hairy and the Vampires: Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2014 in Hairy and the Vampires

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
