RSS
Aside
09 May

Hairy and the Vampires Part Six

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten

The werewolf was falling at me like a giant ball of fur. A giant ball of fur that could tear me to pieces, that is. When he was just far enough away I took a quick hard swipe with one of my axes. He knocked it out of the way, of course, and that was what I was expecting. So, I did this cool move where I stuck my leg in the air and threw him off to the side. Not the easiest thing to do.

The werewolf flew off to the side and took out a bunch of monsters with it.

“Close your eyes,” I shouted to Roy.

“Why?” he asked.

Before they could recuperate and before the rest of them could attack us I let out a huge blast of light. Without waiting for a second I ran over to the abducted people and started cutting them loose. Luckily there were only four of them and two of them had started to wake up.

“Help these two,” I ordered Roy, who had followed right behind me. He did so without questioning me.

I grabbed the other two and tossed them both over my shoulders. Then we both started running as quickly as we could. The monsters had regained their wits and were running after us. They were fast, too, so we were going to have a hard time getting away from them.

“We can’t outrun them,” Roy yelled.

“I know,” I agreed.

“Then we can’t make it out of here like this.”

I could hear the werewolves and vampires gaining on us, but it didn’t sound like all of them were chasing us. That made me a little nervous.

I looked around for something to use, anything that could slow them down. There was a large machine—I had no idea what it was—that was hanging from the ceiling by a chain. I took out one of my Desert Eagles and, with the people on my shoulders, shot the chain. The machine fell, narrowly missing Roy and the other two. It hit the ground with a loud crash and the monsters stopped chasing long enough to put some distance between us. I think I might have even crushed one of them.

The relief I felt was short-lived, however, because the rest of the monsters that hadn’t been chasing us came around a corner in front of us and they looked hungry. I looked both ways and saw a doorway on our right. I quickly darted through there and Roy followed. It was a room with no other way out. Cut me some slack, I knew that going in there.

I put the two people down and ran back to the door. I slammed it shut just in time before a werewolf came in. The door was made of metal and was at least six inches thick. The lock wasn’t going to be strong enough to keep them out for sure.

“That won’t hold them out forever,” Roy pointed out.

“I know,” I said.

“Then what exactly do we plan to do?”

“Not really sure yet. But if we had kept running we would have been dead.”

“Okay, well, do you have any syringes?”

I looked at him for a second. I was very confused why he would ask me that.

“Why?” I asked him.

“So you can inject your blood into them,” he said.

“Why would I do that?”

“They’ve been bitten. You’re a paladin, aren’t you?”

I was a little shocked that he would know that but then again, he had been hunting monsters for a lot longer than I had.

“How did you know that?” I asked him.

“Other than the fact that you were stronger than me,” he started, “that flash of light was a dead giveaway.”

“How do you even know about paladins?”

The werewolves and vampires were banging on the door, hard. The two people that were awake started to look around.

“What’s going on?” one of them asked.

“I’ve been doing this for a long time,” he said, ignoring the man.

“Right,” I said.

“I was trained by a paladin. I spent over five years with him. He taught me how to hunt and find monsters, how to stay alive.”

“Who?”

“His name was Drake…”

Hairy and the Vampires: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 9, 2014 in Hairy and the Vampires

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
