RSS
Aside
18 Apr

The Abominable Blizzard Part Eight

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven

My eyes had trouble adjusting to all of the light, snow and wind, but the yeti didn’t grab me right away. No, I wasn’t cowering like a little girl. I couldn’t see. What was I suppose to do, start kicking and punching, hoping for the best?

“Are you going to stay in there all day?” Mygle asked.

“Mygle?” I was surprised.

“What were you expecting?”

“A yeti.”

“No faith.”

He stuck his hand out to help me up and I accepted. I climbed out of the trunk and stumble on a piece of the car. My eyes eventually adjusted but I was still pretty beat up from the crash. It took me a moment to realize that my shoulder was dislocated. I looked at it, trying to decide how I was going to put it back in place. Right then Mygle punched me in the shoulder, resetting it.

I groaned.

“Stop whining,” said Mygle.

“A little warning next time, maybe,” I replied.

“What, so you can cringe and hide?”

I punched him in the face. He took it and didn’t fight back.

I walked around the car and saw the yetis all gathered in the car. They were all unconscious.

“Did you do that or the crash?” I asked him.

“I caused crash,” he pointed out. “So, both.”

“We have to kill them.”

“I know.”

“I don’t think so,” said a voice behind me. I knew who it was before I turned around to look.

I turned just in time to see the man in the trench coat and hat knock Mygle across the road. I tried to kick him in the chest but he just grabbed my leg and pulled it so I fell on my back. He went to stomp on my chest but I kicked him with my other leg and rolled away. Before I could stand up he ran and kicked me in the stomach.

“You’re pathetic,” he spat as I tried to get all the breath back in my lungs. “I can’t believe you.”

“I was just in a car crash,” I pointed out. That earned me another kick.

“Paladin,” he muttered.

“What do you want?” I asked him.

“It doesn’t matter.”

“Why did you hire the yetis to find me?”

“Because they are very good at what they do.”

“Yeah, but you’ve found me a number of times. Why did you need them to find me this time?”

He reached down and punched me in the face. Let me tell you something: I have faced a lot of different monsters and have been punched in the face by almost all of them. None of them hurt anything like that did. This guy packed a lot of force behind each hit.

“It was a test,” he said. “And you failed.”

“I never was very good in school,” I choked.

The man looked over at the yetis. “Looks like I didn’t really get what I paid for.” He then looked at Mygle. “I wasn’t expecting that, though.”

“We go way back,” I said.

“I’m not interested.”

He walked up to me with his sword he had hiding under his jacket. I didn’t get a good look at it because my head was swimming.

“I’m going to kill you now,” he said bluntly.

I looked up at him and couldn’t move. I was screwed…

The Abominable Blizzard: Part Eight

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 18, 2014 in The Abominable Blizzard

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
