RSS
Aside
26 Mar

Carnival of Horror Part Six

 

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart Eight

“You killed him,” Sanders repeated.

I didn’t bother responding. I was feeling a little weird about killing two people, having never killed one in my life. I know he was trying to kill me, but it still felt weird.

“How did you do that?” he asked me. “You threw him over 20 feet?”

“I’m a paladin,” I told him. I was going to erase his memory anyway.

“What does that mean?”

“It means I’m really fast and strong. I hunt monsters. It’s in my blood.”

“So these are monsters?”

“I thought they were but I was wrong. They’re all human.”

“And you just killed them?” He backed away a little.

“That clown was the first human I’ve killed. Feeling pretty weird about it, so relax. I strictly hunt monsters.”

I wasn’t ready for this. I dealt with monsters all the time and I understand why they do what they do. It’s in their genes, programmed into their brains. They have to do it. But these people, they were just sick.

“I feel like it might be time to call the police,” I said.

“I like that idea,” Sanders agreed.

We both were walking back to the front entrance when we heard another blood curdling scream. I really wish that I hadn’t heard that. If I had just left a little bit sooner, then I could have called the police and got the heck out of there. I couldn’t let whoever that was get hurt.

I started walking back.

“It could be a trick,” Sanders pointed out.

“I know that,” I said. “But I can’t take that chance.”

“OK. Let me at least call the cops.”

“No.” I ripped his phone out of his hands.

“What the hell? You just said you wanted to get the cops.”

“That was when I thought I was leaving. I can’t have them come here and see me.”

“Why?”

“Do you really think they would accept my story?”

Sanders didn’t respond to that.

“I thought so,” I said. “Just stay close.”

We continued back through the carnival, heading in the general direction that the scream came from. Honestly there was no telling where the sound actually came from. Then we heard the scream again, but this time it sounded like it was coming from behind us.

“How did it come from over there?” Sanders asked.

“I don’t know,” I admitted.

“You know, this really feels like a trap.”

“I agree.”

“Should we leave?”

“Probably.”

“Are we going to?”

“No.”

“Please?”

“Look,” I started, but that was all I got out. Someone came up from behind me and knocked me right in the back of the head. It was just in the right spot too, because I was out cold. Who the hell hit me…?

Carnival of Horror: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2014 in Carnival of Horror

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
