RSS
Aside
14 Mar

Carnival of Horror Part One

Part TwoPart Three, Part FourPart FivePart Six, Part SevenPart Eight

I hate clowns with a passion. They have these painted faces and it is supposed to be this friendly, happy person that does fun things, but in reality they are the most uninviting looking people that will murder you in your sleep and suck your soul right out of you. They drain all of the happiness out and fill you with terror. I find them to be the creepiest things on this planet and I have seen some things. You know. I’ve told you.

No. I’m not here to hunt a bunch of killer clowns that are attacking people and eating them. I was exaggerating, kind of. I wasn’t really sure what I was dealing with but there was a traveling carnival going around the country and each time they went into a town one or two people went missing. I’m sure you are asking yourself “then why didn’t the police notice?” Well, they did because I could see some sort of agent snooping around, too. They probably didn’t have anything on them yet but like I said, someone noticed.

The weather was nice and warm here in southern California. There were children running around and teenagers, most likely on dates, kicking up dirt as they walked about. Fun games were being played and cheers and screams from the rides filled the air. I wished my life were like that. Although, if it was then I might be the poor sucker that gets snatched up and has who knows what done to them. If they try to catch me I’ll kill every last one of them.

What was weird was that I didn’t feel anything. You know how I can feel it when a monster is near? I didn’t, but something just seemed so off about this place. I shouldn’t say I didn’t feel anything but it was just so faint that it was more of a gut feeling. This might have been something that I’ve never run into before and could avoid my pull. That was a scary thought. I tried to push that idea out of my head but it was hard to come up with any other explanation.

It occurred to me that if there was an agent walking around then there would be a point that our paths would cross and he would notice. I really didn’t need for him to notice me. However, I remembered that I could just erase his memory so that stopped my worries on that matter.

I walked up to one of the games and the girl working it seemed to be very chipper. She was running back and forth trying to grab everyone’s attention. It was the game where you throw a ball and try to knock all of the jars off of the platform. Those things were so rigged.

“Come on up!” she boomed. She had a loud voice for such a small girl. “Take your chance and knock down these empty jars. Guys! Prove to your girlfriends that you are strong. You there.” She was talking to me. “Want to give it a go?”

I walked right up to her. She was kind of cute. She had dark hair and had a lot of energy.

“I can give it a shot,” I said.

“Four dollars for three balls,” she informed me. “Let’s see what you’ve got.”

I gave her the money. I had pulled out some cash a few states back. That was something that I would be very grateful for later, but I don’t want to get too ahead of myself.

I threw the first ball and missed.

“Oh,” she said, “so close.”

“How long have you been working here?” I asked her.

“A while, maybe a couple years. I didn’t really have a home, so Renée, the owner, made me feel at home. This is my family.”

“I can respect that. You guys get along good then?” I threw the second ball and nicked one of the jars but nothing happened.

“So close. Yeah we get along nicely.”

“That’s good.”

I stood there for a second.

“You going to throw the last ball?” she asked me.

“I’m just warming up,” I told her. “Anything strange ever happen here?”

“That’s an odd question. No. Everything here is normal. Except maybe the Freak Show.”

“Right.” She wasn’t going to tell me anything, if there was something going on.

I took the last ball and whipped it at the jars. It hit right in the middle and knocked all of them off the platform. The girl looked at me, very surprised. I don’t think it was because I had faked that I was bad but because no one was supposed to be able to do that.

“Huh,” she said.

“Beginner’s luck,” I said.

“Right.”

“Hey you,” I heard behind me. I turned to see the agent coming right for me. “I know who you are.”

Uh oh…

Carnival of Horror: Part One

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 14, 2014 in Carnival of Horror

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
