RSS
Aside
12 Mar

Terror Apartments Part Twelve

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part Ten, Part Eleven

The blade was within an inch of Kelly’s chest when Lenny took the shot. I figured he would have been aiming right for the gremlin’s head but instead it hit its hand, knocking the blade out of its grasp. I was about to do the same thing but Lenny already had his gun out and could get to it quicker. It was a good shot.

The gremlin yelped and cradled its hand, right where the new hole was. Every one of them in the room turned on us and were very angry.

“You stink of dead gremlin,” one of them said. I think it was the same one that we first saw. “Especially Mygle.”

Mygle didn’t respond but he didn’t lower his head and cower like he did before.

“You been here long enough,” the gremlin continued. “Die!”

All of them came at us. The door slammed behind us so we had no choice but to fight them in that tiny room. I have had some bad fights in my time but this is definitely in my top five. I think most of the hits against me were by either Lenny or Mygle. It wasn’t like I was perfect either. Even the gremlins managed to collide a few times.

I reached back with my axe and my hand slammed right into Lenny’s face. Thankfully it wasn’t the axe.

“Sorry,” I yelled.

“Watch it,” he screamed back.

“You’ve hit me, too, ya know.”

“Just shut up and keep chopping.”

I was very happy that Mygle was on our side and that he was a better fighter than the rest of the gremlins because if it were just Lenny and I we would have been screwed.

The comical fight continued and we were gaining the upper hand, narrowing it down to two of them. One of them jumped at me and I simply sidestepped and chopped off its head. The other tackled Lenny and bit him on the shoulder—not a very vital area. Lenny screamed like a little girl and then Mygle tackled the thing off of him. The gremlin pushed with all of his might and threw Mygle into the wall, but Mygle had managed to wound the gremlin.

“How could you?” it asked Mygle. “Your kin. Your own brother, for a human girl.”

“It was right thing to do,” Mygle answered him.

“The time is coming, Mygle. The King is gathering the army and soon the world won’t stand chance. Pick a side.”

“I already have.” Mygle darted forward and cut the gremlin’s head right off. They were all dead now, in case you lost count.

Lenny went over to help his team and I ran right up to Kelly.

“Are you alright?” I asked her.

“I’ll be fine,” she said.

We gathered everyone and headed out of the building. One of Kelly’s team members let the manager out of the closet I hid him in as the rest of us went outside.

“You guys are going to take care of all of this?” I asked her, pointing toward the building.

“Yeah,” she said. “It was good working with you, as always.”

“A pleasure of course. I’ll see you soon.”

“Unfortunately.” She walked away with a sly smile on her face

I walked over to Mygle. He was standing on the edge of the sidewalk with his head down. He looked very lost. I assumed that he was making himself invisible to everyone but me.

“Hey,” I said.

“Hi,” he said back.

“You OK?”

“Not really. You?”

“I’ve had worse days.”

He nodded his head.

“Why would the King be gathering an army?” I asked him.

“I don’t know,” he lied.

“Please, Mygle. Don’t lie to me.”

He let out a long sigh. “There’s someone.”

“Who?”

“I don’t know who.” He was lying but I was going to get some truth out of him. “He’s planning. All the monsters know.”

“What’s going to happen?”

“I don’t know for sure, but when does I don’t think even you can stop it.”

Mygle walked away. My life just kept getting better and better…

Terror Apartments: Part Twelve

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2014 in Terror Apartments

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
