RSS
Aside
03 Mar

Terror Apartments Part Eight

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Nine, Part Ten

“I’m gonna kill that little jerk,” Lenny promised. He didn’t say jerk but I have decided to keep this as clean as possible.

I couldn’t believe that Mygle had taken off on us again. He was acting very strange.

“He’s acting weird,” I said.

Lenny was looking at me like I had three heads.

“He’s acting weird?” he asked me.

“Yeah,” I replied.

“How should a gremlin normally act?!”

“I don’t know, but I know Mygle and he wouldn’t just run away like this.”

“Apparently he would.”

I felt like punching Lenny right in the face but I held it back. I didn’t want to spend time fighting with him. So, I buried my anger deep inside and would let it come out later when we found all of the gremlins.

With no help from Mygle we needed to search the old fashioned way, again, by asking questions. We traveled up to the next floor and decided to split up by going door to door. After each one, assuming someone would answer, we were to meet back in the hallway so neither of us lost the other. For the first three doors no one answered. Finally on the fourth one a man answered. He wasn’t as old as the previous lady I spoke with but he was definitely much older than I am.

“Yes?” he asked.

“Hi,” I said. “My name is Wes. I’m an exterminator. I was wondering if I could ask you a few questions?”

“Why would an exterminator need to ask me any questions?”

He had a good point. “We are having trouble locating the nest of rats and we were asking around to see if we could locate the source.”

“I guess that makes sense. Come on in.”

I stepped into the door after he opened it fully for me and the apartment was very bare. Clearly this guy lived alone. The one thing it did have going for it was the huge TV and the surround sound system that was set up. The man noticed that I was looking at it.

“Nice, isn’t it?” he asked me.

“Yeah,” I answered. “Wish I had this setup.”

“I can’t really turn it as loud as I want. The walls are pretty thick and everyone else’s hearing around me is pretty bad but still, so is mine.” He laughed to himself. I smiled so he didn’t think I was rude. Plus, it was kind of funny.

“Bet it cost a pretty penny?”

“Yeah, but I’ve got more money than I know what to do with and no one to give it to.”

I felt a little awkward after that.

“So you were looking for the critters?” he asked.

“Yeah,” I said. “The rats.”

“Funny looking rats. I think it’s disgusting that there are rodents in this building.”

“You’ve seen them?”

“No but I’ve heard. Old Lady Haggard downstairs talked about them and a gentleman on the 8th floor said something about it, too.”

“Are those the only ones?”

He thought about it for a moment.

“Yeah,” he finally replied. “I guess. The only ones I talk to anyway.”

“OK,” I started. “I think I already talked to Mrs. Haggard so I should probably go talk to that other man. What is his name?”

“Fred Hill.”

“What apartment number?”

“Eight zero three.”

“Thank you.”

I got up and headed for the door.

“I’m going to go talk to him,” I said.

“No problem.”

I walked out the door and met up with Lenny in the hallway.

“I’ve got a lead,” I told him.

He didn’t say anything but just kept staring down the hallway.

“What?” I asked him.

I looked down in the direction he was facing and saw four gremlins, staring at us…

Terror Apartments: Part Eight

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 3, 2014 in Terror Apartments

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
