RSS
Aside
26 Feb

Terror Apartments Part Six

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten

Let’s take a look at the situation: Kelly and almost all of her team were just kidnapped by a group of gremlins and most likely were going to be eaten. Mygle had taken off and left me high and dry. All I could think of, however, was that I was going to have to figure the rest of this out with Lenny, the one person in the world I hated more than anyone else. I knew that I was going to have to work with him at first but I didn’t think it was going to be just the two of us. I could tell he felt the same way.

We both got up and stared at each other. We looked back and forth at the hallway and it was kind of a mess. Some broken up plaster and blood were spread out on the floor. I was surprised that no one had come out to say anything yet. We were making so much noise I’m sure that everyone in the entire building would have heard us.

A door opened up next to me. I always speak too soon.

“What’s going on out here?” asked the old lady that we were just speaking to.

“Uh,” I stumbled. “I fell.”

For what fell like forever she just stared at me. There was no way she was going to buy that bull crap story.

“Are you OK?” she asked.

Seriously. She bought that. “I’m fine.”

“Should I call an ambulance?”

“No. I’ll be OK. We’ll clean up here, too.”

“Alright.” She closed the door behind her.

I looked over at Lenny.

“That was weird,” I said.

He just stared at me.

“Why isn’t anyone else coming out?” I asked.

“Seriously?” he asked me.

“What?”

“Kelly and the rest of my team were just taken away.”

“Yeah?”

“Then what does it matter if people heard us or not?”

“Calm down, Lenny.” I didn’t see the need to mock him at the time. “It isn’t like I haven’t been in this situation before. We’ll get them back.”

“Let’s go then. Now.”

I put up my hands in surrender and followed him as he took off. I could understand his panic. It wasn’t like I wasn’t freaking out a little bit on the inside but it didn’t do anyone any good to start throwing a fit.

We headed off in the direction that the gremlins had been dragging the bodies but there was a lot of ground to cover. There was no telling where they were heading and there was no trail because they had done their amazing teleporting act. Or they might have gone invisible, but I didn’t think they could make humans go invisible, too.

“There’s no telling where they are,” I pointed out. Lenny was freaking out and moving around erratically. “They could be anywhere in this building.”

“You don’t think I know that, idiot?” he asked. He had turned around to say it right in my face.

“Name calling isn’t going to get us anywhere.”

“Can you just shut up?”

I grabbed him by the arm and whipped him around.

“Look,” I began, “I know this situation sucks but it is what it is. We could search this place top to bottom and probably wouldn’t get to them in time. We need to pull ourselves together and figure this thing out. They are in here somewhere and the gremlins would have picked a place to nest. If we ask around we can find out where that nest is.”

Lenny looked at me like he wanted to say more but he was professional. He knew that I was right and we needed to work together to get this done.

“Fine,” he spat. “Just follow me.”

“I really think it would be better if you would follow me,” I said.

“No.”

“I have more experience and I’m better.”

“I’m older.”

“You’re uglier.”

“I should just shoot you right here.”

“Try me.” I don’t know how we got here.

“I can lead the way,” said Mygle.

Lenny and I both put our differences aside and pointed our guns directly at Mygle’s head…

Terror Apartments: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2014 in Terror Apartments

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
