RSS
Aside
24 Feb

Terror Apartments Part Five

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Six, Part SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten

We all just stood there. I think the gremlins were just as shocked to see us, as we were to see them. Of course, they had to know that I was here because they could feel me, just like I could feel them. That’s one of the perks of being a paladin. I can feel when a monster is close by. So, I’m sure they weren’t surprised to see me, but everyone else that was with me.

“Mygle?” I muttered.

“That’s why I’m here,” he replied.

Kelly and her team held very still, which I was thankful for because I didn’t want anyone on either side to make any sudden movements.

There were seven of them. We outnumbered them but they were all stronger than Kelly and her team. I wasn’t really sure whose side Mygle was on but we were definitely going to find out soon enough.

Kelly looked at me out of the corner of her eye and she was livid. I didn’t blame her. This didn’t look good at all.

“Mygle,” one of the gremlins spoke in a very raspy voice. “What great surprise.” Their English was just as bad as Mygle’s, apparently.

“Hi,” Mygle said back. He seemed a little afraid.

“Which one of you is the Paladin?”

“I am,” I answered.

Kelly turned to me with a look that told me I shouldn’t have done that.

“There’s no benefit in not telling them,” I defended myself.

“Did Mygle bring you here?” the gremlin, whom I assumed was the leader, asked me.

“No. You did when you started terrorizing this place.”

“You’ll regret coming here.”

“So won’t you.”

All hell broke loose. The gremlins exploded toward us with malicious intent buried deep into their eyes. Fighting Mygle was a pain in my rear, so you can imagine what fighting seven of them was like, especially with humans getting in my way. Actually you can’t imagine that because you’ve probably never fought a monster before. Stop nodding your head in agreement.

The gremlins were fast and strong. They didn’t seem to be as good as Mygle was, which made me wonder about him a little more. As I dodged the first one that came at me I turned to Mygle to see what he was going to do. At first he just stood there, obviously afraid of which side to take. I thought he had turned his back on the other gremlins, so why wouldn’t he just start helping us?

Another gremlin jumped at me and tackled me to the ground. As we fell and started to roll backwards I used the momentum to launch the little monster right off of me into a wall, leaving a nice little dent in the plaster. As it came back at me I took a swing with my axe, aimed right at him or her—it might have been a her—but it disappeared right before I could chopped off their head.

I turned to Mygle again.

“Do you plan on helping anytime soon?” I asked him.

He looked back and forth between the battle and I, trying desperately to make a decision. I could see the inner turmoil he was going through but I honestly didn’t care at that moment. We needed his help.

“Sorry, Wes,” he said and then he was gone.

“Are you kidding me?” I complained. I didn’t have time to whine about it, though. There was a fight going on in a crowded hallway and I needed to focus on that.

The gremlins were getting the better of Kelly and the rest of them. They were all good at fighting, even against monsters, but those red devils are just too fast and strong for them.

The gremlin that had spoken to us was leaping at Kelly from behind with a knife held high in the air, ready to bring it down on her exposed back. Now even though I really don’t have any feelings toward Kelly, I couldn’t just let her die, could I? Ha like I was really thinking about letting that happen.

I took out one of my Desert Eagles and shot him right out of the air. It wasn’t a kill shot but he wasn’t ready to attack Kelly anytime soon.

“Thanks,” she said.

“No problem,” I said back.

That moment I spent responding to her was the moment that I got hit in the back of the head. It was just in the right spot too because it didn’t knock me out but it was enough to completely disorient me.

I fell to my knees and that’s when they started to drag Kelly and her team away. I tried to react but I was so woozy that I just stumbled as I tried to get up. If I didn’t do something and fast they were going to get all of us. As they grabbed Lenny and started pulling him away, I pulled out my Desert Eagles and just started firing. My aiming was spot on because the gremlin that was going to drag Lenny down the hall jerked several times and fell. It was dead.

That scared the rest of them and then they were gone, with Kelly and everyone else. I looked over at him and he looked over at me.

“You’ve got to be kidding me,” we said in unison…

Terror Apartments: Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2014 in Terror Apartments

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
