RSS
Aside
14 Feb

Terror Apartments Part One

Part TwoPart Three, Part FourPart Five, Part Six, Part SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten

New York City. Major cities were not places that I liked to visit very often because there were never really any monsters in them and way too many people. Call me anti-social but I’d rather face a pack of vampires than face a large group of people. This time, however, I didn’t have a choice.

I had been surfing the Internet, as I often do, and found that there is a large apartment building being haunted. Before you go getting any ideas I was pretty sure that it wasn’t a ghost. Why, you ask? I will tell you. It’s not a ghost because people mentioned little creatures running around. I researched the building and there was nothing out of the ordinary as far as deaths go.

I drove around the streets, which were surprisingly easy to navigate, looking for somewhere to park. I couldn’t go to the building’s parking garage because it was gated off. It wasn’t like any small town I normally visit where you can park pretty much anywhere and no one cares. This place was much different.

After much searching I finally found a place where I could park my car overnight. I drove up to the girl at the booth.

“How long?” she asked.

“I’m not really sure,” I admitted. “I think a night but I’ll say two to be safe.”

“Eighty dollars.”

“What?”

“You deaf?”

“No, I just think I heard you wrong.”

“Did you hear me say 80 dollars?”

“Yeah.”

“Then you heard me just fine.”

“OK then.”

I gave her my card and she scanned it.

“You can drive through now,” she said.

“Right,” I replied and searched for a spot.

I wasn’t too happy with the way the girl just treated me but I’m not one to complain. Or maybe I am. The streets were extremely busy with people. No one seemed to mind if they bumped into me and I won’t bother to tell you what they said. Some of them were extremely vulgar.

It was a 20-minute walk to the building and that was 19 minutes longer than I wanted it to be. I walked up to the front of the building and for a second I thought about what I was going to do to get through. I decided that I would pretend to be a relative of someone that lived in the building. There was a Mr. Killingsworth. That seemed good enough to me.

The doorman stopped me as I started to go through.

“Can I help you, sir?” he asked me.

“I’m Robert Killingsworth,” I lied. “I’m here to visit my uncle.”

“And who is that?”

I stared at him like an idiot. I didn’t think he was going to ask me that question. Clearly he saw through my bull crap story.

“Mr. Killingsworth?” I tried.

The doorman laughed. “Nice try, sir. I am going to have to ask you to leave now.”

I let out a long exaggerated sigh. “I guess I had that coming.”

I left and walked down the street out of view while I tried to think of a better way to get in there. The only problem was that the doorman had already seen my face and that put me at a severe disadvantage.

“Wes Parker,” a voice came from behind me. I knew who it was right away.

“Kelly,” I said as I turned around.

“Hi there.”

“Thanks for blowing up that town for me. No one has ever done anything that nice for me.” Just a reminder, Kelly works for an agency of humans that hunt monsters, just like me. She and her group helped me fight against a witch and she blew up a town of werewolves I had discovered.

“Aren’t you sweet?”

“What are guys doing here?”

“The same thing you are.”

“Fair enough.”

She smiled at me and took a step closer to me.

“That was a nice try,” she said mockingly.

“Do you have a better idea?” I asked her.

I looked at her crew as they were gearing up and they were all wearing exterminator outfits.

“Ah,” I said.

“Suit up,” Kelly said.

I was expecting to go on this one alone but I had to admit it was good that they were there. I wouldn’t have been able to get in there without them. This was surely going to be interesting…

Terror Apartments: Part One

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2014 in Terror Apartments

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
