RSS
Aside
12 Feb

Mischief in the Mountains Part Ten

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine

I was at a loss for words. I was supposed to protect these people and I had failed, badly. There was barely even a fight between the elves and I before they knocked me out. Larry didn’t do anything to save those people but he obviously came in and saved me. There was no way the elves would just let me live. They would have wanted to eat me.

“Why?” I asked.

“Why what?” Larry replied.

“Why did you save me and not these people?”

“I’m sure you would like me to say it’s because by the time I arrived they were already dead, but in reality I just didn’t want to.”

“Then why save me?”

He leaned in real close. I couldn’t see his face still but his breath was horrendous. “I have plans for you.”

I was really uncomfortable with that answer but I knew he wasn’t going to tell me what those plans were.

“But,” he started as he stood back up straight, “I’m not going to tell you yet.” See?

I couldn’t even respond to him.

“Well,” he said. “Even though this conversation is very riveting I have things to attend to.”

“I don’t know who or what you are,” I began, “but I can promise that one day I am going to kill you.”

He simply laughed.

“I don’t think so, Wes,” he said. “See you later.”

Puff. He was gone just like before.

I looked at all the carnage around me and had no idea what I was supposed to do. It wasn’t like I could just leave and let everyone see this but the friends and family of these people were going to wonder where they all went. Even still, there wasn’t really much to identify anyone with and I’m sure everyone’s blood was all mixed together by now. I couldn’t leave everything like this.

The next two hours were spent cleaning up the entire area. Any left over body parts were thrown into a pit I dug and burnt to ashes. When I was just about done I heard someone walking up behind me. Relying completely on reflexes I whipped out one of my Desert Eagles and pointed it directly at the would-be attacker.

“Alex,” I sighed.

It was hard to tell if she was scared of me.

“I thought I told you to go home?” I pointed out.

“I didn’t,” she said. She was stunned; baffled by everything she had obviously just seen.

“How long have you been there?”

She just shook her head.

“The whole time?” I asked her.

“Yeah,” she replied.

“I’m sorry.”

“It was horrible.”

“I can you promise that this won’t haunt you.”

“How can you promise that?”

“I’m going to erase your memory.”

“What?”

I flashed my beam of light before she could say anything more. After the light faded and she regained her wits she just stared at me.

“What happened?” she asked me.

“I found you wandering in the woods here,” I lied.

She looked at me like she didn’t know what to say, like she was confused, which was understandable.

“Who are you?” she asked.

“Nobody,” I replied. “Let me take you home.”

I brought her back to my car and then brought her home. When she got out of my car she looked back a couple of times and still seemed very confused. There was something very odd about her.

While I was heading out of the town I felt severely depressed. It seems unlikely but I have honestly never let someone die on my watch. I felt wrong. I felt really bad. I was going to make sure that didn’t happen ever again…

Mischief in the Mountains: Part Ten

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2014 in Mischief in the Mountains

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
