RSS
Aside
10 Feb

Mischief in the Mountains Part Nine

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight

I woke up with the biggest headache. To be honest I was surprised that I wasn’t dead. As my sight started to come back I saw there was a man standing in front of me. At least it looked like the size and shape of a man but my vision was a little too fuzzy to tell.

“Wake up, Wes,” the man said.

I wasn’t very happy that he knew who I was and had a very big advantage over me at that moment.

“Get up,” he said again more sternly.

I pushed myself up into a kneeling position and he started to come into focus. It was the same man that I saw when I was back in my hometown. He had on the same trench coat and hat. So, added with the dark of night, I couldn’t see his face.

“Who are you?” I asked him.

“Just someone who knows you,” he replied.

I wasn’t sure if I should be scared or not. Whoever he was he just saved me. I could see there were a few elves lying dead that I didn’t kill so he couldn’t be that bad, but the fact that he could just disappear in the blink of an eye made me uncomfortable. The last time I saw him he just vanished. It was a very brief meeting.

“I’ve had my eye on you for a very long time,” he informed me.

“Oh yeah?” I asked. “That’s creepy.”

“Nope. Just being observant.”

“Yeah, creepy.”

He chuckled but I could tell it was the kind of chuckle that might end up with him punching me in the face. Trust me, I know.

“You are funny,” he said.

“Some don’t think so,” I replied.

“No one really does, Wes.”

“Cool.”

“You’re quite good at what you do.”

“What is it exactly that you do?”

“Come on now. I don’t want to spoil the surprise for you. I promise you’ll find out when the time comes.”

My vision was clearing up but I still couldn’t see his face. Something was telling me that I knew him but at the same time I had no idea.

“Are you going to at least give me a name?” I asked, not bothering to press him about what he was doing.

“Just call me Larry,” he said.

I looked at him a little disappointed. “Larry?”

“Yes.”

“Really?”

“Yes, why?”

“Couldn’t you have a cooler name like Hunter or Slash, or even Bob?”

“Do you have a problem with my name?” He sounded angry.

“No, no. It’s great. Larry works.”

There was a lot of blood around me and I wasn’t sure if it was the elves or mine. I didn’t think it was mine but then again I was feeling a little bit woozy, so who knows.

“So you’re not going to tell me what you’re doing, Larry?” I asked him.

“No,” he replied.

“OK, then will you at least tell me why you saved me and these people?”

He just laughed, a very evil laugh that told me I was naïve. I can be very perceptive sometimes.

“Is something funny?” I probably shouldn’t have bothered asking.

“Wes,” he started, “who said anything about me saving anyone.”

“Huh?”

I turned around and hadn’t been so horrified in such a long time. I have hunted a lot of monsters in my day and one thing was always the same, in the end I always won. What I saw when I turned around was what was left of the people I was trying to save. The elves had eaten them…

Mischief in the Mountains: Part Nine

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2014 in Mischief in the Mountains

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
