RSS
Aside
22 Jan

Mischief in the Mountains Part Two

Part One, Part ThreePart Four, Part Five, Part SixPart SevenPart Eight

Elves are awful. At first all they really do is cause a lot of trouble and do a lot of property damage but eventually it gets ugly. They have some sort of spell that makes everyone in the town that they invade careless of what’s going on around them. No one ever leaves and no one gets in. Then the little devils get what they need: just one kill.

I needed to get out of the town before they realized I was there. Being a paladin I can come and go as I please, unless they know I am there and put a little more magic into their wall they put up around the town. Yeah, they can do magic. I don’t have any other explanation. If I was in their containment bubble I couldn’t make any calls or anything. If I could draw them outside of the town then I would have a much easier time. All I would have to do was cook a big batch of baked beans. It is catnip for them and they can’t resist. I can do that in the town and probably would but they are much stronger in their magic bubble.

Elves are small with the stereotypical pointy ears, but they are fast and strong thanks to their magic. They look normal, just like Santa’s elves.

When I reached the border of the town I could see the wall was already there. Most of the time they know I’m there before I have a chance to get out because they can sense me. The only thing I could do at that point was go back into town.

I needed to find out more about when they arrived, that way I would know how much time I had before they were going to kill someone. Usually they travel in packs of five. They need to kill a human and, well uh, consume them. When they do that it replenishes their magic, I guess. I don’t know how it works. I really hate the little rats.

The Coffee Shop was located in the center of the town and I found the redhead sitting alone sipping on what I assume was a coffee.

“Well, look who’s back,” she said.

“Sorry about that,” I replied. “I had to do something.”

“It’s no biggy.”

“This place is nice.”

“I ‘spose.”

“When did all this weird stuff start happening?”

“Do you want something?”

“Huh?”

“Do you want something to drink? It’s on me.”

“Oh. Yeah sure.”

“What do you want?”

“Cappuccino.”

“OK. Be right back.”

“Wait.” It didn’t matter. She was already gone.

I sat there waiting rather impatiently for her to come back. The elves had this effect on people. They didn’t care what was happening and when I asked about it they usually just ignored me.

A few minutes later she finally came back. She placed my drink gently in front of me and to be honest it smelled pretty good.

“Thanks,” I said.

“No problem,” she responded.

“Anyway, when did the weird stuff start happening?”

“I’m not really sure. I didn’t really believe anyone until I woke up one morning and my dad’s lawnmower was hanging from a tree.”

“When was that?”

“Last Thursday.”

If that was when it started that would mean I would have a lot of time but she said that there were people that had been there for a month.

“Can you remember when someone first mentioned something?” I asked.

“Well,” she began, “I guess it was that crazy girl that no one likes. It was about a month ago.”

“Do you remember the date?”

“Why does that matter?”

“It just does.”

“OK.” She thought for a moment. “December 19. I only remember because it was the day of my last final.”

That was one month ago. The meant that they were going to kill someone that night…

Mischief in the Mountains: Part Two

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Mischief in the Mountains

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
