RSS
Aside
10 Jan

Werewolves on the Bayou Part Five

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Six, Part SevenPart Eight

I couldn’t believe it. Everyone in the town was just a bunch of werewolves. The sheriff was definitely right and I had wandered into the wrong place. I had no idea how I was supposed to defeat an entire town of werewolves by myself. Running was the only option at that point.

I took off down the street and hoped I would miraculously find my bike but as you can imagine, that didn’t happen.

As the werewolves all converged on me I was able to fight a lot of them off. I fired a gunshot here and a chop with my axe there. Unfortunately, they were able to overpower me and I was powerless to fight back. Hey, I’m strong but when I have six werewolves holding me there was only so much that I could do. Let’s see how well you hold up to that.

They dragged me into town toward the restaurant and pinned me down in front of it. I didn’t really see what point they were trying to make here but I was definitely worried.

Raymond came walking out of the store.

“RUN!” I yelled at him. I quickly wondered how he was still alive if he was just a normal human surrounded by werewolves.

He didn’t seem the least bit frightened but instead smiled at me. “I think not, Wes.”

I was confused. None of the werewolves attacked him and it appeared that he was on their side. What would a werewolf need a human for beside food?

“You look puzzled,” he pointed out.

“You could say that,” I replied. “They all knew I was here.”

“It’s a small town. When a newcomer wanders in and we can feel their presence, well then we can pretty much figure out it is a paladin.”

“OK, but what do you mean ‘we’? You’re human.”

“Who said I am human?”

Remember when I said werewolves are werewolves by night? That meant they were forced to change at night, or so I thought.

Raymond took off his shirt and then his pants. I was in no mood to witness that so I turned away, avoiding an awkward moment. When I looked back, though, there was a large werewolf where he used to be. He changed, by his own will. He wasn’t forced by the moon but was able to morph into the monster because he chose to. I had no idea they could do that.

“As you can see,” Raymond started in a now deep voice, “I am just like the people in this town.”

“A giant, ugly, mindless beast?” I asked.

The sheriff smacked me in the back of the head. At least I assumed it was him.

“You see, I turned everyone here,” he continued.

“There aren’t enough of you already?” I said. I don’t know why I have to make comments like that. All it got me was a nice slash across my face.

“The fact of the matter, Wes, is that we outnumber you, yet we hide. We hide so the world won’t know who we are. We were afraid of Paladins, but now you are the last one. So it is you who should fear us, Mr. Parker.”

“Uh huh.”

“I came here, to this town where no one ever came to or even knew about. I knew it was the perfect place to build my army.”

“An army of werewolves. Awesome.”

“I wanted my fellow wolves to bring you to me so we could talk.”

“Why would you want to talk to me?”

“You’re the last paladin. Why wouldn’t I want to meet you?”

I thought back to earlier that day, when Raymond first saw me.

“You knew who I was,” I began, “when you first saw me.”

He laughed. “You caught me.”

“How?”

“Don’t you recognize me?”

He leaned in really close to me.

“I killed your parents…”

Werewolves on the Bayou: Part Five

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2014 in Werewolves on the Bayou

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Werewolves on the Bayou: Part Five

Leave a Reply

 
