RSS
Aside
06 Jan

Werewolves on the Bayou Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part Four, Part FivePart Six, Part SevenPart Eight

“Let’s go city boy,” the sheriff said.

I wasn’t going to let them take me in but I really didn’t want to make a scene. The werewolf would know who I was. Although, they probably felt me come in, just like I felt them when I first came in, and since I was probably the only visitor in the past 100 years it was safe to assume they already knew.

“I’d rather not,” I said. It didn’t matter at this point.

“You don’t have a choice,” the sheriff informed me.

“I don’t want to make a scene.”

“Then let’s go.”

“Sheriff,” the man behind the counter started, “I think we can cut the new comer a break, can’t we? Clearly he isn’t familiar with our laws, otherwise he wouldn’t have done it.” He looked me for validation, to which I nodded.

“Of course,” I played along.

“Let’s let it slide just this once.”

The sheriff looked quite aggravated but he was certainly mulling it over in that big, empty head of his. The deputy that was with him seemed like he didn’t even know what was going on. The way he stared at me made me very uncomfortable.

“Fine,” the sheriff finally answered. “Do it again, and I’ll toss ya right in jail.”

“It won’t happen again,” I promised.

“Good. I’ll have my eye on you.”

“Thank you sheriff,” the man said. The sheriff just nodded his head and walked away.

I turned back to the man. “Thank you for that.”

“It was no problem,” he replied.

“Wes.” I stuck out my hand.

“Raymond.” He also stuck out his hand and completed the handshake.

“So, tossing gators?” He didn’t seem surprised, which was odd, but instead was mocking me. Why didn’t they think it was weird that I could lift a gator? Maybe Raymond just thought the sheriff was exaggerating.

“Yeah,” I laughed it off. “Weird.”

“I suggest that the rest of your time here that you don’t going around throwing animals.”

“Good idea.”

I ate the sandwich and found out that Raymond wasn’t lying. The tuna was really good.

“So,” began Raymond, “you hunting after anyone right now?”

I shook my head. “There’s something out there but I don’t know what it is yet. I’m on my way to find my next target.”

“Right. Well, I hope you find him.”

“Or her.”

“Touché.”

After I was finished I left the tray on the counter and started for the door. I noticed that everyone in the place—there were maybe four people in there besides Raymond and I—was looking at me and they all had evil grins on their faces.

“Stay out of trouble out there,” Raymond suggested.

“I’ll try to.”

“Bye.”

“See ya.”

The air was thick and the sun was making its way down past the horizon. I had a few hours left until the moon showed its ugly face, forcing the werewolf to come out of hiding. All I could do now was wait…

Werewolves on the Bayou: Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in Werewolves on the Bayou

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
