RSS
Aside
18 Dec

Under the Bridge Part Ten

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part Nine, Part ElevenPart Twelve

I couldn’t believe it. They just took her right through the wall where they came from. I had never been to… uh… wherever it was they came from. For all I know it could just bring them underground or to some other world.

“Uh, oh,” said Mygle.

“What do we do?” I asked.

“We go in.”

“Can we?”

“Yeah, but we might not make it out.”

“That doesn’t matter. Let’s go.”

“Wait,” he said as he put his hand up to stop me. “We can’t just run in.”

“Why not?” I asked him.

“We gonna need something.”

“Like what?”

Mygle didn’t bother telling me what we needed but instead started heading back into town.

“Where are we going?” I asked him.

“To a food store,” he replied.

“Why are we walking?”

“Your bike is broken.”

“Yes, but you could teleport us.”

“Yeah I could. That is if you want to lose your arm.”

“OK then, but let’s go now.”

I agreed that it was best to walk rather than lose some of my limbs, but I decided that we should run. The longer we took the lower our chances of saving Kerry were. Mygle didn’t seem bothered by that, which was good because I would have just run anyway.

We arrived at the store and Mygle made himself invisible to everyone else but me. It was relatively busy but that was probably because of all the Black Friday shoppers that were done looking for their deals.

“What are we looking for?” I asked as we walked through the front doors.

“Just follow me,” he beckoned.

I did follow him until we made it to the isle with cleaning products. I thought I saw him going towards the window cleaner, which made me think we would be going up against vampires but instead he reached for the air freshener in the spray bottle.

“Grab that,” he told me.

“Why?” I asked as I took it off the shelf.

“It will keep unwanted things away and hide our smell. Well, you mostly.”

“OK. Is that it?”

“No. We need some peanut butter.”

“I take it you have been in there before.”

“Of course,” he said. “Trolls aren’t the only monsters that live through that doorway.”

“Great. More monsters. No offense.”

“Where we’re going there will only be trolls, I hope.”

“I guess that’s somewhat comforting.”

We found the peanut butter, got some bread to go with it, and made our way to the front. I didn’t really care if anyone thought I was crazy for talking to myself and luckily I didn’t run into anyone else that I knew.

After I paid for the “supplies” we left. I ran back to the bridge just as fast as I had left it and felt like we had already wasted too much time.

“We need to spray ourselves before we go in,” Mygle told me. So we did.

“When we get in there,” Mygle started, “try to stay with me. If you get lost you’ll have no way of getting out.”

“I really hate that I need you for this,” I said.

“Aren’t you glad I came?”

“Yeah.”

For a few seconds we just stared at the wall of the bridge until eventually I took a step forward and passed through…

Under the Bridge: Part Ten

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 18, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
