RSS
Aside
17 Dec

Under the Bridge Part Nine

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Eight, Part TenPart ElevenPart Twelve

“We need to go now,” I said.

Without waiting for a response I grabbed Kerry and just started running. I knew Mygle would be able to keep up so I didn’t bother looking back to see if he was OK. Kerry was screaming but I had to ignore it. The troll was unreasonably fast and it was gaining on us.

I was utterly confused. Trolls never, and I mean never, go out during the daytime. Plus it said it was coming back with more trolls so it didn’t really make sense. Maybe it wanted to get the element of surprise, which it certainly did. I had no idea it would be showing up like this.

Kerry was running so slow it was actually bugging me, so I just picked her right up and carried her in my arms. I wouldn’t be able to run as fast as I could if it was just me but it was certainly faster than we were going.

Mygle popped up next to us.

“I can hold it off for a second so you can get her to safety,” he said. I nodded my head and he stopped to fight the troll.

I looked back and saw Mygle had indeed slowed down the giant monster and that would give me the time I needed to get Kerry away from it.

We had been running down a street that was outside of the city so thankfully no one else saw what was going on, I think. We reached a safe distance away and I put her down.

“What is going on?” she asked, barely able to get the words out.

“Remember when I said I was hunting a troll?” I answered with a question.

“I thought you were kidding.”

“Obviously I wasn’t.”

“Is this what you have been doing?”

“Yes. I would love to stick around and tell you about it but you need to run now.”

“I’m so scared.”

“Look at me,” I said to her. I took her face and my hands and looked her straight in the eye. She was trembling so much I thought she was going to shake right out of my hands.

“You are going to be fine,” I promised her. “I need you to be brave and run. I will be able to kill this monster and you will get away. OK?”

She looked at me as if she wouldn’t be able to be brave but eventually she nodded her head.

“I’ll come find you,” I said to her.

She nodded her head again and then ran away. As I turned around to see what was going on with the troll and Mygle but I was met with a giant fist to the face. It felt like my head was knocked right off my neck and I saw spots. The troll had hit me so hard that instead of flying backwards I just fell right on my back, painfully hard.

As I hit the ground I expected the thing to continue to beat me but for the first few seconds I just lay there, silently. When I looked up I saw that Mygle had engaged the monster again, which was good because it might have killed me otherwise. I hated that I owed him.

I pushed myself up and looked around for my bag. I had brought it with me because I couldn’t leave it at the hotel or with my bike. With my axes in my hands I went in to give the little gremlin a hand.

“It’s about time,” he said as I took my first swing at the troll. I missed and it took another swing at me. I had managed to block it but it knocked me back a few feet as I slid across the ground.

“Sorry,” I replied, “but I was a little busy.”

“Just kill this giant ball of ugly.”

The troll didn’t like that comment. It grabbed Mygle by the neck and slammed him to the ground. I went to jump in but it just grabbed me by the throat. The thing was incredibly strong.

“I told you I would be back with more,” it said.

“WES!” I heard Kerry scream.

I looked over and saw she was being dragged away by a troll with five others surrounding them. I hadn’t realized that we were back at the bridge and they started dragging her to the wall.

“NO!” I shouted. They pulled her into the wall and she was gone.

The troll holding me by the neck whipped me into the other side of the bridge and started for the wall it came from.

“Follow us if you dare,” it begged, and it was gone…

Under the Bridge: Part Nine

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 17, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
