RSS
Aside
11 Dec

Under the Bridge Part Seven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part EightPart Nine, Part TenPart ElevenPart Twelve

I stood outside the pizza place waiting for Kerry. I half expected her to not show up. It also occurred to me that this may not be a date and I could be over thinking it. This was way too nerve racking.

The man that I was chasing was a complete mystery to me. He was someone I’d never seen before and he honestly freaked me out. I’d never seen someone human-sized that could disappear like that. Plus, he seemed to be human. I tried to think back if there were any monsters that Drake, my mentor and teacher, had told me about that might be rare but there was nothing coming to mind. It made me worry.

It had been a few hours since I had seen Mygle and it was kind of a relief, but I wanted to ask him about the guy I chased. It was too late for that, though, as Kerry was heading towards me with a smile on her face. There was an equal smile on mine.

“Hi,” she said.

“Hey,” I replied.

“I half expected you to be gone.” If I had killed the troll I would have been.

“I couldn’t get myself to leave.”

“Good.”

I found it odd that she had taken to me so quickly and didn’t feel too awkward about my parents dying. Then again she doesn’t remember how they died.

“Shall we?” I asked her.

“Yes,” she said.

We both entered the shop and the smell of pizza filled my nostrils. It made me realize how hungry I was. Kerry decided we were going to split a large but there was no way that I was going to let her get away with paying.

We sat a table while we waited for our pizza to cook.

“So where have you been?” she asked me.

“I’ve been to a few different places,” I answered. “Never really could find a place that felt like home.”

Her smile quickly faded. “I couldn’t believe it when it happened. It was all so fast. I didn’t even get a chance to say goodbye.”

“Me either.”

“What happened?”

I had read the reports when they were released. It was a home invasion gone wrong and I was lucky enough to get out alive. It was obvious that Drake, or whoever was keeping my credit card in check, had some pull. Maybe it was the agency that covered it up.

“I don’t really remember,” I lied. “When I woke up I was in the hospital. Whoever…I must have been knocked out.”

“Sorry,” she said. “I didn’t mean to bring that up.”

“It’s OK.”

The girl working the counter brought the pizza and sodas over to us. I reached for my soda just in time for Mygle to appear. I practically threw my soda everywhere. Just like a ghost, a gremlin can choose who can see or hear it. So, naturally I looked like a crazy person.

“Whoa,” Kerry gasped. “Are you OK?”

“Stellar,” I replied. “Will you excuse me?”

“Yeah. Sure.”

I took myself into the bathroom with Mygle right behind me, which was good because I had every intention of smashing his head into the mirror.

When we got in the bathroom there was another person in there so I didn’t say anything at first but just started cleaning myself off. Eventually the man finished his business and walked out. I turned to Mygle and put on the most furious face I could muster.

“What the hell is the matter with you?” I asked him.

“It’s not like you’ll melt,” he replied.

“I thought I told you to go away?”

“Eh. I couldn’t. Plus I knew you would still like me.”

“I don’t like you, Mygle.”

“Right. Didn’t look like the date was going so well.”

“It was just fine until you showed up. Wait, how long were you there for?”

“Not long,” he lied.

“Whatever.”

I finished cleaning up as much as I could. It wasn’t easy cleaning soda off of anything and I wasn’t going to feel good until I showered and washed my clothes.

“I want you gone,” I told him. “As soon as we walk out of here, go.”

He just nodded his head.

“Before you go,” I began, “there was a man that was following me earlier. I couldn’t really see he face because he had a black hat and jacket, but he had a deep voice and he disappeared. He transported. Do you have any idea what or who that could be?”

I could see the color drain from his face and his eyes opened wide.

“Nope,” he said.

“It doesn’t look like you don’t know,” I responded.

He just shook his head and walked away, leaving me in the bathroom by myself. Mygle was definitely lying to me and whoever that man or thing was scared the crap out of him…

Under the Bridge: Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
