RSS
Aside
09 Dec

Under the Bridge Part Six

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part SevenPart EightPart Nine, Part TenPart Eleven

I woke up to Mygle smacking me in the face as hard as he could. We then spent the next five minutes fighting in the room and making a complete mess. He was having a lot of fun while I on the other hand was really trying to kill him. It would really be no skin off my back if my axe were accidentally buried into his head.

After we managed to calm down I tried as best as I could to pick up. Luckily I had no limit on my card because we broke a lot of things. The worst part was that I might have to come back that night and I really didn’t want to face the workers. Maybe I would try to find another place to stay.

Before I went to meet Kerry I needed to get my bike looked at. Plus it was a few hours before we were supposed to meet, so I had some time. Mygle insisted on coming with me but I told him if he followed me I wouldn’t like him anymore. I didn’t really like him to begin with but it certainly struck home and he didn’t come with me.

The shop was surprisingly busy. Being a smaller town I almost expected them to be closed the day after Thanksgiving but they had to make money. I walked through the front door and noticed a couple of people waiting and a kid behind the desk. He looked to be about my age and the moment I walked up to him I immediately regretted it.

“Can I help you?” he asked as he looked up. For the first couple seconds he just looked at me but then a smile stretched across his face. “Squirt.”

“Rodney,” I replied. Rodney Hill. He was a grade above me and he always gave me the hardest time.

“Long time no see. Why are you back?”

“Visiting.”

“Who?” I could see that he genuinely felt bad for that comment. “Sorry.”

“I was just in the area and my bike was damaged.”

He leaned back so he could see my motorcycle.

“Jeez,” he said. “What happened?”

“Deer ran out in front of me,” I lied.

“How are you OK?”

“I got lucky.”

He started tapping his pen on the desk.

“I don’t know if we have time for you today,” he said, reverting back to his jerk self.

“Just tell me how long,” I sighed.

“Watch it. Don’t you remember the old days?”

I leaned right into his face. “That was a long time ago.”

My intimidation tactic didn’t really seem to threaten him. If he continued to give me a hard time, assuming that I would see him past this moment, then I would have to make sure that I made it clear that I could kick the crap out of him. Maybe I would kick the crap out of him.

“Calm down squirt,” he said. “We’ll take a look at it and call you. What’s your number?”

I gave it to him.

“We’ll call you soon,” he promised.

“I’m not a squirt,” I told him.

“Huh?”

“I’m not a squirt anymore. If you haven’t noticed, I’m taller than you are.”

He cracked a smile. I tossed the keys in the counter and walked out of there. I felt an old anger start to rise in me and I didn’t like it. It wasn’t that I was upset about what he said but the fact that it was making me angry.

I looked at my phone and realized that I still had over two hours before I needed to meet Kerry, so I still had plenty of time. That’s when I noticed a man with a black cowboy hat and a black coat staring right at me. He was a good distance away so I didn’t have the best view but it looked like he was smiling. It was hard to tell because the collar on his jacket was popped, covering the bottom half of his face.

I started walking toward him and he immediately walked in the other direction, confirming that he was watching me. We both walked down the street for a good two minutes and the pace was slowly picking up until we were both jogging. There was no way that this guy was going to be able to outrun me, so I decided to put it in high gear.

The man rounded a corner and was out of sight. I started to run as fast as I could but I didn’t get far. The moment I rounded the corner my feet came out from underneath me and I landed on my back about five feet down the alley. As the air started to find its way back into my lungs I turned around to look at the man. His face was still hard to see but he was laughing.

“Wes Parker,” he said.

I didn’t know what to say back but I didn’t have the time anyway. He spun around and by the time he did the full 360 he disappeared…

Under the Bridge: Part Six

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 9, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
