RSS
Aside
06 Dec

Under the Bridge Part Five

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part SixPart SevenPart EightPart Nine, Part TenPart ElevenPart Twelve

Mygle and I looked back and forth at each other. He simply shrugged his shoulders and walked over to the first troll he had killed. The one good thing about trolls is disposing of them in very easy. They just slowly disintegrate, which is good because they are harder to move than an 18-wheeler.

The one problem was their weapons wouldn’t just disappear so we did have to get rid of them. If someone came by and saw a sword that was too big for two people to hold, it might raise some questions. We gathered them up and threw them into a hole we dug 10 feet in the woods.

“Anything about that seem weird?” I asked him.

“That troll was big,” he said.

“You knew that was going to happen.”

“I had my thoughts.”

“Why didn’t you tell me?”

“I wasn’t sure, so I didn’t want to say.”

“I’m going to cut your hand off for that one.”

“Go and try.”

I felt like backhanding him but it would be a waste of time.

“Why did the troll give up so quickly?” I asked. “And I have never seen a troll speak like that.”

“What would you expect?” he asked me.

“Me troll. Me hungry.”

“Ha!”

I smiled.

“Maybe the troll is smarter,” he said. “Maybe it was surprised by us.”

“I don’t know,” I said. “I’ve never met a smart troll. Then again I’ve ran into some weird things lately.”

“Like what?”

I filled him into what had happened over the past couple of months. For a few seconds he just stared at me.

“Does any of that mean anything to you?” I asked him.

He shook his head. I think he was lying.

“OK then,” I said. “We should stay here in case it comes back.”

“It won’t,” he promised.

“How do you know?”

“It said it wasn’t coming back until tomorrow.”

“It could lie.”

“It wasn’t.”

I was frustrated but I could tell he believed that to be true and that was enough for me. “OK.”

“Where are we staying?” he asked me.

“We? I’m going to see if I can find a room. You are going to find your own way.”

“Always so harsh, Wes.”

“I don’t like you.”

“Come on.”

“No.”

Needless to say, an hour later we were both held up in a crappy hotel room where some of the letters on the sign were either out or flickering. There was an awful smell coming from the bathroom and there was only one bed. I made it very clear that he was going to be sleeping on the floor. Surprisingly he listened to me.

I looked at the crumby clock radio and saw that it was getting close to midnight.

“You miss it?” Mygle asked me.

“Miss what?” I replied.

“Your old life?”

“No,” I lied to him. I did wish that I could get back to before finding out I was a paladin. “You?”

“No.” I could tell he was lying. I really wondered what could have happened that would have made him not want to be with his kind.

For the rest of the night neither of us said I word. Clearly we both missed our old lives but we didn’t want to admit it to each other.

I thought about the next day and how I needed to get my bike fixed. I hoped the damages weren’t too bad and I didn’t think it was if I was still able to drive on it. It would probably be beneficial if I learned how to fix it myself but that would also require getting a hold of the parts.

A realization popped into my head, interrupting any other thoughts: I would have to follow through with going on my date the next day. Kerry was the love of my life and I had never been on a date before. I haven’t had much time to go on a date, OK? I’ve been a little busy.

I found myself more afraid to face Kerry than I was the troll. I was going on a date…

Under the Bridge: Part Five

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 6, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
