RSS
Aside
02 Dec

Under the Bridge Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart Nine, Part TenPart ElevenPart Twelve

I told Mygle to meet me at the bridge. He begged me to let him ride on my bike with me but I would rather press my cheek against a hot stove. I may be working with him on this one but I was not going to have him hang around with me the whole time.

There were a couple of hours until dark so I decided to head into town to get my bike looked at. Of course, once I got to the shop I realized that it was Thanksgiving and nothing was open. With a sigh of disappointment I turned my bike around and headed for the bridge.

When I got to the bridge Mygle was already there, chewing something. It looked like a squirrel. It didn’t matter what it was–Mygle would eat it. He saw me coming and jumped up and down in excitement. I wish I could be excited to see him too but I would never be happy to see him. Even if I was on fire and he had a fire extinguisher, I would choose to burn.

“What took you so long?” he asked me.

“I went into town to get my bike looked at,” I answered. “It was closed.”

“Of course it is. Holiday hours.”

“How in the world would you know that?”

“I’ve lived in this world for 103 years. I think I would know by now.” I had no idea gremlins could live that long or that he was that old.

We both walked over the bridge and sat with our backs against the stone passage. Traffic was non-existent then so no one would bother us.

“You are just full of surprises,” I pointed out.

He smacked me across the face.

“Why?” I yelled.

“Full of surprises,” he replied.

I took one of my axes and swung it at his neck. He transported out of the way just in time and my weapon connected with the bridge, sticking in a couple inches. Mygle reappeared on the other side of me like nothing had happened.

“One more surprise like that and I’ll take off your head,” I warned him.

“Uh huh,” he muttered with a grin. He didn’t really care. He loved getting a rise out of me and it worked every time.

I ripped my axe out of the bridge and put it back on the spot in my belt. I didn’t bother to look if there was any damage to the blade from the stone because if you remember back to when I killed the vampires, I told you that they are indestructible.

“Why are you here?” I asked him.

“To hunt the nasty troll,” he replied.

“I know that, but why here? There are plenty of other things to kill and eat.”

“I don’t know, I knew this is where you came from.”

“How would you know that?”

He brought his face within a few inches of mine and tapped the side of his head.

“We gremlins know more than you could think of,” he said.

“Imagine,” I said.

“What?”

“More than I could imagine.”

He looked very puzzled.

“Never mind,” I muttered. I was unsettled by the fact that he knew this was my hometown but I felt the need to correct him.

For the next 10 minutes the two of us just sat in complete silence, save for the occasional grunt from Mygle. It was funny because even though we were very different we had one big thing in common: we hunt monsters. I wonder if he kills gremlins too.

“How many trolls have you killed?” I asked him. I couldn’t take the silence any longer, even if it was going to be replaced with his voice.

“Three-hundred and seventy-two,” he said without even thinking about it. “You?”

“Enough. Not that many, admittedly, but enough.”

“This should be easy then.” It didn’t sound like he really believed that.

“Yeah?”

“Yeah.”

“Then why aren’t you doing this one by yourself?” I asked him.

“I always enjoy your company,” he replied. I knew that he did like to bug the hell out of me but if he were hunting something he’s killed over 300 of then he would not need my help.

“If that was the reason then I’m sure I would see you more than I would like. What aren’t you telling me?”

He pulled out his knife and flipped it in his hand, indicating he was going to stab my hand. I decided to let it go and hope for the best. I didn’t trust the little snot to be honest with me but he would have my back.

More time wore on and I hadn’t even realized it but it had been almost 36 hours since I had slept, so it was no surprise that I had fell asleep and woken up when it was dark out. When I did open my eyes I saw that Mygle was pushing me to wake me up.

“What?” I asked.

He nodded his head to the other side of the bridge and I couldn’t believe my eyes. There was a troll literally coming out of the stones like it was some sort of thick liquid and it was he biggest troll I have ever seen. Usually a troll would have a couple feet on me but this one had at least five. It was uglier than a normal troll with missing teeth, a large nose, and slimy dark, green skin. It smelled like a bad case of body odor and it was nothing but muscles. Behind the large troll were three smaller ones.

I looked over at Mygle.

“You enjoy my company?” I asked him.

He shrugged his shoulders.

Great…

Under the Bridge: Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 2, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
