RSS
Aside
28 Nov

Under the Bridge Part One

Part Two, Part ThreePart FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart Nine, Part TenPart ElevenPart Twelve

The town was just the same as the last time I was there, except this time I felt a little bit different about it. Before I had left here I was happy, living my life without a care in the world. Now, I even hated the sight of it. The moment I crossed the town’s border I felt like I was going to throw up. There were some pretty rotten memories from last time.

The house stood on the quiet street, nestled back about 100 feet from the road. It was two stories high and when I had left it was white with green shutters. Now it was a bright blue color with black shutters and there was a garden that bordered the front of the house. My mom was never really into having flowers so we never had anything more than a couple of bushes.

It was Thanksgiving but I didn’t really have much to be thankful for. I didn’t really live my life for me anymore. Instead I live for all of you, to protect you. So be happy for that. The air was cold, which meant if I was going to be traveling around northern states I would have to put my bike storage and get my car, but I was going to hang on to it for as long as I could. It wasn’t that the cold bothered me but more that if I hit some ice I could kiss my bike goodbye. And it was awful in the snow, for obvious reasons.

There were a number of cars parked in the driveway, which meant whoever was living there now was having some sort of get together. My family used to come over on Thanksgiving but I haven’t seen them since my parents were killed. I wonder how they are doing.

Another car pulled into the driveway but it was too late. The people getting out of the car saw me.

“Can I help you?” the man getting out of the car asked me.

I decided that if I took off right then it would look really bad. “No. I used to live here.”

“Oh.”

“It was a long time ago.”

“I see.”

We both awkwardly looked at each other.

“It’s OK,” I told him. “I just wanted to look. I’m leaving.”

I started to put my bike in motion when I heard someone.

“Wes?” a voice called to me.

Crap. This was another reason I didn’t ever come home because there was a very good chance that someone would recognize me.

I turned around and couldn’t believe my eyes. Standing before me was the girl that I had the biggest crush on. Her name is Kerry Phillips. She was the most beautiful thing I had ever seen and she was even more gorgeous now.

“Wes Parker?” she said again. “Is that you?”

“Kerry?” I asked.

She seemed really happy to see me but I could tell there was a certain pity in her eyes. However, that didn’t stop her from coming up and giving me a big hug. I felt my legs turn to jelly and I could feel the heat rush to my face. Give me a break. This was the girl that I was in love with and she gave me butterflies in my stomach. Don’t pretend that none of you have ever felt like that.

“I haven’t seen you since…” she started.

“Since my parents were killed,” I finished for her.

“Yeah.”

“That was a long time ago.”

“I couldn’t believe it when I heard about it.”

“You didn’t hear anything when it happened?” She lived right next door so it seemed kind of crazy that she wouldn’t have heard the growling and howling.

“No.”

“Right.” I remembered I had the ability to erase memories so it was quite possible that Drake, my mentor, came back and made sure no one would remember. Oh right. For anyone who hasn’t read my stories before I am Wes Parker and I am a paladin. I’m strong and fast, and I use those abilities to hunt monsters. If you want to know more then go back to Vampire Assembly line.

“I’ve missed you.”

My heart skips a beat.

“I missed you, too,” I choked.

“Where have you been?” she asked.

“Around.”

“Foster homes?”

“Sure.” I couldn’t tell her what I had really been doing.

We stood there looking at each other and there were a flood of memories that came crashing into my mind. We used to play out in the woods and pretend we were hunters. Every night we would wave to each other from our bedroom windows. I really did miss her.

“I can’t believe you’re here,” she said.

“Me either,” I admitted.

“Why are you here?”

I took in a deep breath. “I’m here to hunt a troll…”

Under the Bridge: Part One

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2013 in Under the Bridge

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
