RSS
Aside
18 Nov

Ghost Town Part Eight

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven, Part Nine, Part TenPart Eleven

I bounced off a car, completely caving in the hood, and fell onto the ground, happy the sedan broke my fall. I would have felt bad for whoever’s car I just destroyed if it wasn’t for the fact that I couldn’t breath. Dillon was standing next me saying something but the ringing in my ears prevented me from hearing anything.

I took as much time as I could to regain my breath because I didn’t have any choice but to wait. It gave me time to notice how remarkably smooth the pavement was. Dillon was still talking and his voice was getting louder. It was either that or I was gaining back my hearing.

“Wes?” he said. “Wes, can you hear me?”

“Yeah,” I moaned. “We need to get out of here quick.”

“Don’t worry. She can’t come out of there?”

“She? Was that your mom?”

“No. It was a crazy lady.”

I looked up in the hole where the wall used to be and saw a woman with pure white eyes and white, matted hair. She had her toothless mouth open and was screaming at me. It was very attractive.

“In the interest of not having nightmares for the rest of my life, I think we should go,” I said.

“Where now?” he asked.

“We need to find out anything we can about the ghost that killed you.”

I told Dillon to meet me at a café I noticed when I first arrived in town, and I traveled back on my bike. I wasn’t really in the mood to talk so it was better to make the ten-minute drive there alone. It was still hard for me to breath.

The café was quiet, which was perfect. There wasn’t a single ghost in there, except for Dillon, and there were only a couple of people that were alive. That was exactly what I needed.

Dillon noticed that I entered and waved me over. As I sat down I placed my laptop on the table and opened it up.

“What are you doing?” Dillon asked me.

“I need to find out anything I can about the really bad ghost,” I told him. “I have a very bad feeling about him.”

“How are you going to do that?”

“By looking on the Internet.”

“The what?”

“It’s…never mind. I can find out pretty much anything that I want about everything.”

“Oh.”

Before we dug in I decided that I wanted something to keep me going so I ordered a frozen drink. It was some sort of caramel thing but it tasted delicious. Plus it gave me a boost after the rough day that I had been having.

I went back to my seat and started my search.

“What can I do?” Dillon asked me.

“Well,” I started, “you can keep me company. This might take a while and there is no telling when that crazy spirit might show back up or any other ghost that might want to hurt me.”

“OK.”

“Just give me a heads up if anything is coming after me.”

“OK.”

For the first hour there was nothing about anyone who specifically lost an arm. The one thing I did find out, though, was there were a lot of violent deaths in this town throughout the years.

“Jeez,” I said out loud.

“What?” Dillon asked.

“A lot of people have had some unhappy deaths here.” I realized I was talking to a seven year old and shouldn’t have said that. I was also aware of the fact that some of the people in the café were now looking at me.

“What?” I asked them, begging them to say something, but none of them did.

I went back to my computer and as I was searching through all of the stories some of them had people that survived.

“This is interesting,” I said.

“What is?” Dillon seemed as interested as me, but he obviously didn’t know why.

“Some of the reports I’m reading have witnesses.”

“Witnesses?”

“It’s someone who sees something important happen.”

“What do they say?”

“Hang on a second. I’ve only read a couple of them so far.”

I kept reading and maybe about a third of the strange deaths that happened over the past 50 years all had someone who saw something, and all say the same thing.

“Uh oh,” I breathed.

“What?” Dillon stood up.

“Any strange death or accident that has happened in this town has the same thing in common.”

“What?”

I gulped. “The ghost with one arm has caused them…”

Ghost Town: Part Eight

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2013 in Ghost Town

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
