RSS
Aside
15 Nov

Ghost Town Part Seven

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part EightPart Nine, Part TenPart Eleven

Dillon’s mom was sitting on the bed with her back against the wall. I have to admit that when I first met Dillon I expected his mother to be somewhere in her 40’s, maybe 50’s. I never expected her to be an old, frail woman. She had to be somewhere in her 80’s. That of course meant that Dillon had been around for a lot longer than I thought.

As we approached her for, the longest time she didn’t move or even look like she was breathing. I started to wonder if she was even alive. I found out she was when she slowly turned her head toward me. It was very disturbing.

“Wes?” she asked.

I stopped, confused. I quickly devised that Dillon must have told her about me. I don’t know when, though. He’d been with me the whole time. I think he was anyway. To be honest there could have been plenty of times he could have sneaked away when I wasn’t paying attention.

“Yeah,” I replied. “I don’t think I ever got your name.”

“Call me Patty.”

“OK, Patty. I’m guessing your son told you about me?”

“Yes. I know why you are here.”

“I’m here to get rid of some of these ghosts. I was wondering if you could tell me about the day of the accident?”

She turned her head away from and for the longest time said nothing.

“It was a cold November evening,” she said, startling me a little, only a little. “I had decided to take Dillon to see a movie. The night was clear and the moon shined bright. We were no more than five minutes from home when I saw something. At first it was too far away to tell what it was. The closer we got to it the more I could see and I didn’t believe what I was looking at was real. It was a man. A man with one arm and a face that could give anyone nightmares.” That sounded familiar.

“He just stood there,” she continued. “I was so shocked by what I was looking at that I didn’t try to move out of the way. Before I could even blink he came charging at us and passed through the car. I swerved out of the way and lost control. When I woke up I was in the hospital and my poor little Dillon was taken from me.” The whole time she spoke it seemed so emotionless. It was probably years of regret and no one believing her that left her that way.

“I tried to tell everyone what happened but no one believed me,” she told me, “not even my husband. So they threw me in here, leaving me to rot away over time.”

“Do you know anything about the ghost who attacked you?” I asked her.

“When it happened I knew nothing of the spirit that ruined my life.”

“Now?”

“When they threw me in here I did nothing but sit here and think about the loss of my little boy, my poor sweet Dillon. It wasn’t until a year ago that I started to see him.”

“A year? I was under the impression that he had been here for a long time.”

“I never said that,” Dillon chimed in.

I thought about it for a long moment. “I guess you didn’t.”

“Whom are you talking to?” Patty asked me.

“Oh, he’s here with us.”

“Dillon?”

“Hi momma,” he said back.

“Oh, baby. It’s always so good to see you.”

“You too, momma.”

A lot of this wasn’t making much sense. When a ghost dies they might not come back for at most six months, if they ever do become a ghost. Dillon had to have died in the 60’s and he didn’t come back until somewhere around a year ago. Things lately had been a little out of the ordinary and it was really starting to worry me.

“What did you find out about the ghost?” I asked her again.

“I’ve been in here for over 50 years,” she mumbled.

“It is very important that I find out what I can about the ghost and anything you could tell me would be very useful.”

She just sat there and stared off.

“Patty?” I tried.

She still said nothing. It occurred to me how still she was sitting so I decided to walk over to her.

“Momma?” said Dillon.

When I stood in front of her I could tell before I even checked for a pulse. She was dead. Not to be insensitive but it was very inconvenient because I didn’t find anything out about the ghost. Although, at least I knew that it was the same ghost that was harassing me.

“Momma?” Dillon repeated.

“Hey little buddy,” I started, “come here for a second.”

I knelt down to meet his height and he walked up to me.

“Is she gone?” he asked me.

I was surprised by Dillon’s quick acceptance.

“Yes,” I said, sadly.

“Oh,” he said. “That’s OK. Soon we can be together forever.”

I nodded my head, not sure if that were really true or not.

“I think we should get going,” I said. That was when I felt it.

Something hit me. I wasn’t sure what or who it was but whatever it may have been it hit me with enough force to knock me out of the building. Let me say that again so you understand: it sent me through the wall of a brick building. There wasn’t much that I could do at that point but plummet to the hard pavement that waited below…

Ghost Town: Part Seven

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 15, 2013 in Ghost Town

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
