RSS
Aside
06 Nov

Ghost Town Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part FourPart FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart Nine, Part TenPart Eleven

Dillon had stopped counting the ghosts. To a seven year old that could have meant he got bored after counting 10 of them, which would still be a lot, but something told me that it was more than that. I looked around and suddenly realized why there were so many people. It was because some of them weren’t alive. I gulped.

“You OK?” Dillon asked me.

“Yeah,” I lied. “Do you want to hang out with me all day?”

“Yeah!” He was excited about that. I wasn’t putting him in harms way because ghosts can’t hurt each other, they can only hurt us. So with him around he could alert me when another ghost is near, and more importantly the ones that want to hurt me.

“Alright,” I said. “Great.”

“Where are we going?”

“I was going to talk to some people but I think I need to eat first.” I’m allowed to change my mind you know. I was going to need all the energy I could get.

“Can we go into a sit-down restaurant?”

“I don’t think that would be a good idea,” I told him. “I can’t be talking to you when people can’t see you.”

“I can make them.”

“No, no. Don’t do that. I think I’ll just get some pizza and find somewhere to take it. You know of anywhere?”

“Yeah. We can go to Hubble Park.”

I ordered a pizza that took almost half an hour to make, which I know is normal especially if the place is busy. It was busy and that is why I was so anxious to get out of there. Out of the 20 people that were there maybe seven of them were alive. So far I was lucky that none of them were angry and trying to kill me. Although, I was sure that there were some around, they just didn’t want me to see them.

After the pizza was ready I stepped out and strapped it to my bike.

“Want to get on?” I asked Dillon.

“No,” he replied. “I can meet you there.”

“OK, where is…” I didn’t get to finish the sentence because he was already gone. “I guess I’ll find it then.”

There was a man in a suit with a briefcase, who looked busy, walking by me.

“Do you know where Hubble Park is?” I asked him.

He stopped and looked at me. He seemed a little confused. “It’s down the road. Take a left on Bleaker.”

“Thank you.”

He walked away and I wasn’t sure why he was confused. That is until another person walked right through him. He was confused because he wasn’t sure how I could see him. I didn’t want to make my presence known to the people of this town; I definitely didn’t want all of the ghosts to know, yet.

I drove down the street and sure enough there was Bleaker Street. Another two minutes and I was at the park. It was just as empty as I had hoped so I could talk to Dillon without worrying about someone thinking I was crazy. He was sitting at a picnic table in the middle of the grass. I brought the pizza over and opened it right up. Dillon took a big whiff.

“That smells good,” he said.

“How can you smell that?” I asked him.

He put his hands up to his mouth and started to giggle.

“Oh,” I said with a smile. “Very funny.”

“I know,” he replied.

I took a bite into the slice I had pulled out and it was probably the best pizza that I have ever tasted, and believe me; I have tried a lot of different places.

“What are we going to do?” Dillon asked.

“Well,” I started as I finished my bite, “I’m going to finish this pizza and then I am going to talk to a couple in town here that claim to be haunted.”

“How come?”

“Because I need to get rid of them.” I realized the moment the words left my mouth I shouldn’t have said it.

“Get rid of them? Are you going to get rid of me?”

“No, Dillon, but not all ghost are good.”

“I know,” he said. “There are some really mean ones.”

“That’s why I am here.”

“They’re not all mean. Some are really nice.”

“Do you know why there are so many?”

He shrugged his shoulders. “At first it was just me, but more have been coming.”

“When did they start showing up?”

“I don’t know. Not too long ago.”

Not too long ago to him could be five years for all I knew.

“Like a year?” I asked him.

“No,” he replied. “Less than that, maybe a month ago. It’s hard to tell.”

That was odd. It was already weird that there were so many but why were they all showing up recently?

I was broken from my train of thought when I noticed that Dillon looked like he had just seen a ghost. Ha. The funny thing, aside from the fact that he was one, is that he did see a ghost. It was also the worst part because when I turned around I saw the same ghost from the cemetery was staring us both down. I guess I was wrong about him being stuck.

“Wes,” said Dillon, “he’s a real mean one.”

“I kind of figured,” I replied.

The ghost came flying at us so fast that I didn’t have time to react, and this time he didn’t stop once he reached me…

Ghost Town: Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Ghost Town

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
