RSS
Aside
14 Oct

The Witch Sisters Part Three

Part One, Part Two, Part Four, Part Five, Part SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten

I followed the “little girl” down the street while she was chased the cat like her life depended on it. To be honest it seemed a little bit obvious to me but I couldn’t take my chances. I had my bottle of water from the pizza shop with me, which was good because I was going to need that.

We both ran for about half a mile before I caught up to her and she turned around to look at me. Before she had time to utter some stupid spell I threw the water right into her face and waited. I waited longer, and I waited even longer. It occurred to me that I might have made a big mistake.

“What was that for?” she said as she started to cry.

“I…” I stuttered. I looked around and realized that everyone was staring at me, and more importantly one of them was a cop. I could have run but that would only draw more attention to me and I couldn’t just wipe everyone’s memory of this because there were too many people. Needless to say I was in a lot of trouble.

“What are you doing?” the cop.

I looked back and forth between him and the girl several times.

“She looked thirsty?” I tried. So, thirty minutes later I found myself sitting in a jail cell. Don’t worry, though, this isn’t the first time I have been arrested before so I would get out of this.

I was surprised that the water didn’t reveal her true identity. I guess that was her true identity, though. Oh, right. Sorry. Water will force a witch to show her true form. What did you think, that it would melt her? HAHAHA. Please pull your head out of your…sorry, but seriously try to forget any ideas you have about how to kill any monster because more than likely you are very wrong. If you end up being right then good for you. I’m very proud.

I needed to figure out how I was going to get out of there but I would probably just do what I did every time that I was put in jail: wait for the late night shift, wipe everyone’s memory, and then break my way out. Bending the bars for me is like snapping a twig to you.

The cop who arrested me walked over to the cell and looked in at me. I recognized him. I didn’t know who he was personally but I had seen him when I had been there before. He was trying to stare me down but I just looked right back at him. There was nothing that he could do to me that made me afraid of him.

He was tall and well built. I’m guessing that he is somewhere in his late thirties, maybe early forties, because he had salt and pepper hair. He wasn’t the chief or anything but I could tell this guy liked authority, but not in a bad way.

“What were you doing?” he asked me.

“She had a spot on her face so I just wanted to clean it off,” I cracked. He just chuckled. It was faked, of course.

“You’ve come into my town and started making trouble. I don’t like it.”

“I don’t imagine you get too much trouble here.” None that he knew of anyway.

“No, and I plan to keep it that way.”

“Listen Officer–,” I took a closer at his nametag, “Bennett, I wasn’t trying to start anything.”

“Then do you plan on telling me why you felt the need to splash water on the face of an eight year-old girl?”

I looked at him for the longest time, not really sure what I wanted to say. I could sit there and just say nothing. Eventually he would just walk away angry, but that didn’t seem to be the best route.

“I just needed to make sure,” I finally said.

“Make sure of what?” he asked.

I just started to laugh uncontrollably. I couldn’t believe that I was about to tell him but there was really no harm in it. “To make sure she’s not a witch.” I had the hardest time getting it out but I finally managed. There’s no need to fuss about it, he’s not going to believe me.

The expression on his face went from amused to somewhere between anger and confusion. I didn’t blame him. If I were in his position I would probably be feeling the same way.

“Either you’re hiding something,” officer Bennett began, “or we’re going to end up tossing you into the loony bin.”

“I have a feeling that I am going to get out of this just fine,” I told him.

“Dreams of grandeur.”

“What are you holding me for anyway?”

“Disturbing the peace and assault.”

“That second one is a stretch, don’t you think?”

I guess that he was done with me because he just walked away and left me to think. I made a stupid and rash decision to just throw water on the girl, especially in front of the entire town. Where were her parents? Never mind. I should have waited until she was out of view or followed her, but I figured I had the upper hand on her so I didn’t want to waste that. I’m only seventeen; cut me some slack. I have impulses you know.

As the day passed by there were no other visitors brought into the holding cell with me and the place was quiet and relatively boring. That should be good but I was getting kind of anxious just sitting there and waiting. It wasn’t like I was afraid of what was going to happen. I already told you I knew how I was going to get out of there. Just sitting still not trying to find or kill something made me want to kill something—not a human.

It was getting pretty close to nighttime and I knew that Officer Bennett would be leaving soon. I needed to make my move soon. The problem from here was I was going to have to be careful who saw me if I wanted to remain under the radar while I was searching for the witch. Plus if I ever wanted to come back I was probably going to have to erase some memories before I left.

Bennett walked toward me. This was going to be easier than I thought. I wasn’t going to have to try to get his attention and come over to me. He started to open the door and I was a little troubled by that.

“What are you doing?” I asked.

He looked at me and I could tell that he was aggravated. “You’re free to go…”

The Witch Sisters: Part Three

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2013 in The Witch Sisters

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
