RSS
Aside
11 Oct

The Witch Sisters Part Two

Part One, Part Three, Part Four, Part FivePart SixPart SevenPart EightPart NinePart Ten

It wasn’t very often that I heard someone say my name—almost never actually—so it certainly caught my attention when somebody did. I knew who it was before I even looked at her.

“Kelly,” I said. “What a surprise.” Remember before how I said I was the only one who could protect the world? I wasn’t exactly being 100 percent truthful. There’s this secret organization, that doesn’t work with the government I don’t think, that searches out and fights monsters as well. I don’t know when they were formed but I do know that it was a paladin that started it.

Kelly and I go way back. Basically I saved her life. I’ll tell you about how we met some other time but not right now.

“What brings you here?” she asked. Her name is Kelly Johnson but I don’t think that is her real name. She has been in the agency for about six years, I think. She’s about 30 years old with blonde hair and she was absolutely gorgeous.

“Oh,” I started, “I’m just here for the foliage.”

“Yeah, I’m sure.”

“Why are you here?”

“Visiting family.” Yeah I’m sure. I don’t know why we always danced around the point like this but we do.

“How are the kids?”

“Let’s just get to the point.”

“OK.” She doesn’t have kids. At least I didn’t know if she did.

“What do you know?”

“Probably as much as you do, maybe even less.”

“I seriously doubt that.”

“Believe what you want. All I know is that it’s a witch.”

“That’s it?”

“That’s it. If cats go missing then that’s a witch. I know you know that otherwise you wouldn’t be here.” Witches were rare. I myself had only run into maybe four before this one. I didn’t know for sure that she knew that because we had never ran into one together but she was there so she knew something was up.

We were both sitting on the bench looking out at the people passing by us, no longer looking at each other. I wonder how long it was going to take her to ask me to join her organization. I still don’t know the name of it.

“Why won’t you come join us?” she asked me, right on cue. I could understand why they wanted me to join because even though a paladin started the organization, there were none left, except for me. So it only made sense that they would want someone like me at there side.

“Nah,” I started. “We’ve got a good thing going here. We see each other when we can, no strings attached. Let’s not ruin that.”

Kelly just nodded her head. She might not be smiling on the outside but I knew she was in the inside.

“I did run into something interesting a few weeks back,” I told her. I didn’t mind sharing some information with her. It couldn’t hurt. We might go back and forth like we didn’t know what we were talking about but in the end we would do what we can to help each other out. We were trying to accomplish the same thing and rid the world of monsters.

“What’s that?” she asked.

“I was in Indiana fighting a pack of vampires.” Remember them? I’ll give you a quick refresher, like last weeks episode. I was in Indiana fighting a pack of vampires that were trying to turn a bunch of people, but like always I killed them all and cured all of the people. It was all in a days work.

“Nothing out of the ordinary there.”

“Yeah, except there were almost 20 of them.” That was enough for her to turn and look at me then. It was just as much as a surprise to her.

“What were they doing?”

“Oddly enough they were turning more people.”

“They weren’t just using them for food?”

“No and they were doing it fast, too. I’m surprised you guys missed that one.”

“Any ideas why?” she asked, ignoring the last comment.

“No. Might be nothing.”

Kelly didn’t looked convinced, but then again neither was I. There was definitely something weird with a vampire gathering of that many. The most I’d seen before was maybe four or five but that was it.

“Why don’t we work this one together?” Kelly suggested.

“Come on,” I said. “You know I don’t play well with others.”

“Just figured you might have a change of heart. On our own then I guess. Just stay out of our way then.” She wasn’t really on her own. She wouldn’t last a second by herself, even with the amount of training and the weapons she has.

“May the best man win then?”

“I’m not a man.”

“Neither am I.” I’m a paladin. I guess that I am still technically a man but I’m not a human so I’m not. Stop spitting hairs.

“Hmm,” she hummed and the left.

I watched her as she walked away, mainly because it was almost impossible not to. I was sure that even if I didn’t want to work with her that at some point we would end up together anyway. Any time we were in the same town fighting the same monster we always did. Well, her and the other six people who were on her team. I wonder just how far their resources stretched out. They had to have had more than I did because I just had my axes, my Desert Eagles, the Internet and a credit card with no limit and no payments needed.

There was a jingling somewhere close by. It sounded like a small bell, like something you’d find on a dog or a cat. A cat! I scanned the crowd trying to find the source of the noise and saw it running down the sidewalk. That might seem ordinary. It might also seem ordinary that there was a little girl chasing it except for the fact that it wasn’t a little girl…

The Witch Sisters: Part Two

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 11, 2013 in The Witch Sisters

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Witch Sisters: Part Two

  1. theworldoutsidethewindow

    October 12, 2013 at 4:07 am

    Looking forward to part 3

     

Leave a Reply

 
