RSS
Aside
07 Oct

Vampire Assembly Line Part Six

Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five

Oops. I probably shouldn’t have counted. The vampire bit down into Elaine’s neck faster than I expected and obviously I didn’t stop it in time. Like I said, though, the virus takes forever to affect a human so don’t get all bent out of shape just yet. The issue that I was facing now was that if I tried to bury the axe in the vampire’s skull it would take a lot of effort and pain to pry the dead vampire off of her. So, I waited while the vampire sucked her blood.

“What are you doing?!” John screamed. “Help her!”

“I will,” I retorted.

“Now!”

“Shut up!” I kicked John in the back of the knee, just enough to bring him to the ground and distract the vampire from biting down on Elaine. The moment it let its bite off of her I swung my axe and it fell to the floor, ending the vampire pack for good. Well, at least in this town.

I walked up to Elaine and held out my hand. She grabbed it and I pulled her up.

“I feel weak,” she moaned.

“That’s because the vampire drained a good amount of blood from you.”

“Oh no…”

“Don’t worry.” I started heading back out to my bike.

“Where are you going?” John asked.

“Just stay here and make sure no one turns.”

I left the building, found my way back to my motorcycle, grabbed my bag and headed back into the building.

“What’s your…” John started. I brought my axe right up to his face.

“Say one more word,” I taunted him. Needless to say he shut up.

I brought my bag over to the conveyor belt that all of the missing people were lying on and opened it up. As I pulled out the three syringes John’s faced turned pure white and that made me smile.

“What are you going to do with that?” he whined. I didn’t answer him because it freaked him out. I took a lot of pleasure in that.

I wrapped the large rubber band I had around my arm and then stuck the needled in my arm. As I started to draw my blood I could have swore that John started to shake. I filled up all three of them. What are they for? Do you have any patience at all? I’m getting there. Thanks for the “perfect” segue.

I tossed one of them to John and he almost dropped it. I would have killed him. Seriously.

“Inject them with it,” I told him.

“Why?” he asked.

“Really? It will cure them.” That’s right, if a person infected by a monster virus is in transition my blood will completely cure them—another benefit of being a paladin.

“What do I do?”

“You’re killing me dude. Just stick it in their arms and push the little thing at the top there. Don’t give them too much though.”

“What? Why? Will it kill them?”

“Yes.” It didn’t. If I thought he might kill them do you really think I would have given him one of the syringes? I just didn’t feel like drawing any more of my blood.

I walked over to Elaine and held her in my arms. She was so pretty. That’s one of the things I hated about never having a normal life. I could never get close to anyone. I took one of the syringes and injected it into her arm. Within seconds the paleness started to fade and the color was slowly returning.

“Feeling better?” I asked her.

“Yeah,” she answered.

“I’ll come back to you.” I had to cure everyone else. John hadn’t even done one yet.

After everyone was cured I had to burn all of the bodies before they started to smell. As I started to pile them up in the middle of the warehouse I thought about the fact that a lot of people had seen the vampires and me. This did tend to happen from time to time given the fact that monsters sometimes attack in crowds. Yet I have not been arrested and no one had come after me. Why do you ask? One of the other abilities I had was making people forget. Convenient, I know.

I had to burn the warehouse with the vampires as well because there was blood everywhere. I couldn’t leave any evidence behind. After everyone was out of the building and it was covered in gasoline I threw the match and watched it light up. Everyone else just stood and watched it with me, dazed and confused. I decided to take that opportunity to erase parts of their memories. Elaine walked up to me.

“I guess I should thank you for saving us,” she said.

“You don’t have to,” I told her.

“I want to.” She came up to me and gave me a kiss. Now this was one of the perks of my job, saving the damsel in distress and getting a kiss.

“Thank you,” she said as she pulled away.

“No problem.”

“Who are you?”

I thought about for a moment. “Nobody.”

I clapped my hands together and there was a bright light. Everyone looked even more confused than before. I went back over to my bike and climbed on. I had forgotten to erase everyone’s memory back at the diner but luckily they were all still in there, too afraid to go outside. My power was accurate enough to erase whatever memory I wanted so no one would forget about the kidnappings.

After my job was done I went back out onto the open road, heading out to find the next monster to hunt. When Drake saved me he had told me that we were the only paladins left, which meant I was the last one. I said to you in the beginning that I didn’t know why I got myself into awful situations but I do know. I am the last of my kind and the only one who can protect the world from these monsters. I do this because it is my responsibility, my birthright. It wasn’t something that I chose for my life but it was what I had to do, because I’m Wes Parker: Monster Hunter.

Vampire Assembly Line: Part Six

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 7, 2013 in Vampire Assembly Line

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “Vampire Assembly Line: Part Six

  1. Jesse LaJeunesse

    April 8, 2014 at 3:13 am

    Nice. Satisfying. I like the amount of world building we get here, and how it sets up a situation whereby we can believe that this might be our world and we just don’t know about it. A lot of urban fantasy has that problem with verisimilitude. I appreciate that level of thought.

    I’m sure I’ll be back to read the rest of these.

     

Leave a Reply

 
