RSS

Where to Begin?

29 Aug

OK. So you want to write a story and have an idea in mind but you’re not really sure where to start. One idea to try, and it has worked for me, is to start at the end. I know that might sound illogical but think about it; a movie or book can be really good until you get to the end and it ruins the entire story—just like every horror movie. Not that horror movies are good to begin with. Nevertheless, you could write a really great story and then find yourself stuck at the end because you have no idea where to go from there. Why not start at the end and work your way backwards? Go ahead and give it a try, you might be surprised.

When I started writing The Half-Breed Series I had one idea in mind about the ending. Of course, it has developed and grown since then but the same idea has held. I then let the rest of the story flesh out from there. It worked pretty well and I am proud of what has come of the story.

Well, I hope that this helps. It is a small bit of advice and won’t work for everyone but it’s worth a try because you wouldn’t be reading this if you didn’t need some help.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in Writing Process

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Where to Begin?

  1. gabrielablandy

    August 29, 2013 at 9:57 am

    Often for me an idea for a short story comes and it’s the end scene. I find this really useful as from then on I am guided through the writing because I know what I am building towards. I find the harder pieces to write are the ones where the inspiration is the opening scene because it takes a lot longer for me to work out what’s going to happen next.

     
    • cjpikebooks

      August 29, 2013 at 3:02 pm

      That’s exactly it. That’s why sometimes when I get into the middle of the story I get writer’s block. I figure out the ending, then the beginning, and then the middle just works its way out from there.

       
  2. Robert Lambert Jones III

    June 20, 2015 at 1:34 am

    I just started following your blog. Your suggestion to start at the end agrees with something I read on another blog. Thanks.

     
    • cjpikebooks

      June 24, 2015 at 8:23 am

      The beginning is obviously important but any good story can be ruined by a bad ending, so to me it is very important. What was the other blog that you read?

       

Leave a Reply

 
